Niezi joined the IRT SystemX in October 2016 to do a PhD thesis dedicated to 5G networks. He revisits his experience in completing his doctorate in the STC (Services of Telecommunications and Cloud) project.

What was the topic of your dissertation ?
In my thesis, I was interested in issues regarding resource allocation and optimization in the context of Next Generation Networks (5G). Indeed, network operators are planning to put in place a new radio access network architecture to cope with the exponential increase in data traffic and to meet with the needs of the new 5G network services. In this context, the Cloud-Radio Acces Network (C-RAN) architecture is proposed as one of the promising architectures based on the cloudification of radio access networks. It consists of centralising the processing of requests from several cellular sites in shared data centers. C-RAN enables network operators to reduce operating costs, improve network capacity, and optimise resource utilisation. In order to achieve these objectives, I have proposed in my thesis several new approaches, stemming from combinatorial optimisation and graph theory to optimally and intelligently allocate resources for the processing of shared data centers to different cellular sites. This will improve the efficiency of resource utilisation and reduce transmission delays so as to meet the critical requirements in terms of latency. Subsequently, I incorporated interference and network coverage constraints into the model to reduce interference levels by ensuring maximum network coverage.

What do you remember from your dissertation?
While working on my dissertation, I had the opportunity to work in a collaborative project with industrial and academic partners. This allowed me to deepen my knowledge of the challenges and challenges of next-generation 5G networks and my skills in applying optimization techniques to facilitate the deployment of 5G networks.

Can you tell us about your favourite memory from your time with SystemX?
My favourite memory is my participation in the Thesis Day 2017 event organised by IRT SystemX, in which I had the opportunity to present my PhD project to the general public in less than 3 minutes. This event was also a good occasion to get to know all the PhD students of IRT SystemX as well as their research work.

Do you have any plans for the future?
I am currently looking for a job that would allow me to continue working on the same perspectives as the topics covered during my thesis.

Name of PhD dissertation: Cloud-Radio Access Networks: Design, Optimization and Algorithms
Name of School: Télécom Paris-Tech / University of Paris Saclay
Last qualification obtained before starting on the PhD: Master’s Degree in Modelling and Algorithmics, University of Versailles Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines

- SUBSCRIPTION NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to IRT SystemX's
newsletter

and receive every month the latest news from the institute:

Legal notice - Sitemap All rights reserved IRT SystemX © 2019

Niezi a rejoint l’IRT SystemX en Octobre 2016 pour réaliser une thèse dédiée aux réseaux 5G. Il revient sur son doctorat réalisé au sein du projet STC (Services de Télécommunications et Cloud).

Quel était le sujet de votre thèse ?
Dans ma thèse, je me suis intéressé aux problèmes d’allocation et d’optimisation des ressources dans le contexte des réseaux de la prochaine génération (5G). En effet, les opérateurs réseaux envisagent de mettre en place une nouvelle architecture de réseau d’accès radio pour faire face à l’augmentation exponentielle de trafic de données et répondre aux nouveaux services des réseaux 5G. Dans ce contexte, l’architecture C-RAN (Cloud-Radio Acces Network) est proposée comme l’une des architectures prometteuses basée sur la cloudification des réseaux d’accès radio. Elle consiste à centraliser le traitement des demandes de plusieurs sites cellulaires dans des data centres partagés. C-RAN permet aux opérateurs réseaux de réduire les coûts d’exploitation, améliorer la capacité du réseau, et optimiser l’utilisation des ressources. Afin d’atteindre ces objectifs, j’ai proposé, dans ma thèse, de nouvelles approches issues de l’optimisation combinatoire et de la théorie des graphes pour affecter d’une manière optimale et intelligente les ressources de traitement des data centres partagés aux différents sites cellulaires. Ceci permettra d’améliorer l’efficacité de l’utilisation des ressources et réduire les délais de transmission afin de satisfaire les besoins critiques en termes de latence. J’ai intégré, par la suite, les contraintes d’interférence et de couverture du réseau dans cette modélisation afin de réduire les niveaux d’interférence en garantissant une couverture maximale du réseau.

Que retenez-vous de votre doctorat ?
Durant ma thèse, j’avais l’opportunité de travailler dans un projet collaboratif avec des partenaires industriels et académiques. Ceci m’a permis d’approfondir mes connaissances des défis et enjeux des réseaux de la prochaine génération 5G et mes compétences dans l’application des techniques d’optimisation pour faciliter le déploiement des réseaux 5G.

Pouvez-vous nous parler de votre meilleur souvenir à SystemX ?
Mon meilleur souvenir est ma participation à l’événement Thesis Day 2017 organisé par IRT SystemX, dans lequel, j’avais l’opportunité d’exposer mon projet de thèse au grand public pendant seulement 3 minutes. Cet évènement était aussi l’occasion pour connaitre tous les doctorants de l’IRT SystemX ainsi que leurs travaux de recherche.

Quels sont vos projets pour la suite ?
Je suis actuellement à la recherche d’un emploi qui me permettrait de continuer à travailler sur les mêmes perspectives que les sujets traités au cours de ma thèse.

Intitulé de ta thèse : Cloud-Radio Access Networks: Design, Optimization and Algorithms
Établissement : Télécom ParisTech / Université Paris Saclay
Diplôme obtenu avant la thèse : Master 2 Modélisation et Algorithmique UVSQ

 

- ABONNEMENT NEWSLETTER

Inscrivez-vous à la newsletter de l'IRT SystemX

et recevez chaque mois les dernières actualités de l'institut :