IRT SystemX

SystemX is one of eight institutes for technological research that have been established by the Government to enhance the country’s attractiveness.

SystemX, set up in 2012, is the only Institute of Research and Technology (IRT) in the eld of digital engineering of complex systems, meeting industries and territories’ technological and scienti c challenges through exible, open and collective applied research.

“An Institute for Technological Research (IRT) is an interdisciplinary thematic institute that develops economic sectors related to its field through a balanced strategic public-private partnership. For this, it manages research programs coupled with technology platforms, conducts research and development projects at the international level, contributes to the engineering of initial and continuous trainings (qualifying professional training and/or degree delivering); and ensures the exploitation of the obtained results. “

Co-localization, SystemX’s cutting edge advantage

The functioning of the Institute is based on two fundamental aspects:

  • Bringing talents together. The institute brings together all the partners involved in its projects under one roof, thus creating a melting pot of interaction between stakeholders in the public and industrial research sectors.

  • Pooling of skills and platforms. SystemX is consolidating its technological platforms by pooling the components and infrastructures of its research projects, and is developing expertise in the service of its public and private partners.

The IRT in numbers

For further information on SystemX

Its research projects
Its partners
Its job, doctoral thesis and internship offers

The IRT Association

In March 2015, the IRTs decided to form an association called the French Institutes of Technology (FIT). This association brings together eight French IRTs focused on four key values: Teamwork, Creativity, Agility, Results.

All eight IRTs receive State funding under the Investment for the Future program (Programme d’investissements d’avenir, PIA).

For further information on Investment for the Future Program

The Investment for the Future program, steered by the General Secretary for Investment (Secrétariat général pour l’investissement, SGPI), was created in the wake of the “Juppé – Rocard” report of 2009. This exceptional arrangement will prepare France for tomorrow’s challenges by financing innovative, promising French investments. 47 billion euros have already been devoted to it under three bywords: excellence, innovation and cooperation. In June 2016, the President of the Republic announced that ten billion euros would be devoted to a third Investment for the Future program, thus adding futher to the initial wish and addressing three priorities: support training and research progress, valorize research and accelerate modernization of businesses.

For more information, please consult the video presenting the Investment for the Future program:

L’IRT SystemX

SystemX est l’un des huit instituts de recherche technologique qui ont été créés par le gouvernement pour renforcer l’attractivité du territoire.

Lancé en 2012, SystemX, unique Institut de Recherche Technologique (IRT) dédié à l’ingénierie numérique des systèmes du futur, répond aux défis scientifiques de l’industrie et des territoires, au moyen d’une recherche appliquée flexible, ouverte et collective.

« Un Institut de Recherche Technologique (IRT) est un institut thématique interdisciplinaire qui développe des filières économiques liées à son domaine au travers d’un partenariat stratégique public-privé équilibré. Pour cela, il pilote des programmes de recherche couplés à des plateformes technologiques, effectue des travaux de recherche et de développement au meilleur niveau international, contribue à l’ingénierie des formations initiales et continues (formation professionnelle qualifiante et/ou diplômante) ; et veille à la valorisation des résultats obtenus. »

La colocalisation, fer de lance de SystemX

Le fonctionnement de l’institut repose sur deux aspects fondamentaux :

  • La colocalisation de ses talents. L’institut réunit au sein d’un même lieu tous les partenaires des projets, permettant ainsi de créer un véritable creuset d’interactions entre acteurs de la recherche publique et industrielle.
  • La mutualisation des compétences et des plateformesL’IRT SystemX consolide des plateformes technologiques grâce à la mise en commun de composants et d’infrastructures issus des projets de recherche, et développe des expertises, au service de ses partenaires publics et privés.

SystemX en chiffres (juin 2018)

En savoir plus sur SystemX :

Ses projets de recherche
Ses plateformes technologiques
Ses partenaires
Ses offres d’emplois, de thèses et de stages

Association des IRT

En mars 2015, les huit IRT français se sont réunis autour d’une association : la French Institutes of Technology (FIT). Cette association fédère les instituts autour de quatre grandes valeurs : Travail d’équipe, Créativité, Agilité, Résultats.

Les huit IRT bénéficient d’un financement de l’État au titre du Programme d’investissements d’avenir (PIA).

En savoir plus sur le Programme d’investissements d’avenir

Le Programme d’investissements d’avenir, piloté par le Secrétariat général pour l’investissement (SGPI), est né du rapport « Juppé – Rocard » de 2009. Cette démarche exceptionnelle prépare la France aux défis de demain en finançant des investissements innovants et prometteurs sur le territoire. 47Md€ lui ont déjà été consacrés en respectant trois mots d’ordre : excellence, innovation et coopération. En juin 2016, le Président de la République a annoncé 10 Md€ pour un troisième Programme d’investissements d’avenir, amplifiant ainsi l’ambition initiale et répondant à trois priorités : soutenir les progrès de l’enseignement et la recherche, valoriser la recherche et accélérer la modernisation des entreprises.

Pour en savoir plus, visionnez la vidéo de présentation du Programme d’investissements d’avenir :