Press

SystemX launches the project “3SA, Simulation for the Safety of Autonomous Vehicle Systems”

The core of this project is about the study of methods and tools for the simulation of autonomous driving systems, involving the modelling of sensors, the provision of a scenario library, the development of a method of analysis of the results simulations and the constitution of a methodological reference.

The project 3SA (Simulation for the Safety of Autonomous Vehicle Systems), which is an extension of the project  SVA (Simulation for the safety of the Autonomous Vehicle), aims to go further in the use of digital simulation to demonstrate the safety of the individual autonomous vehicle.

The use of simulation for the demonstration of autonomous vehicle safety is an unavoidable alternative to physical validation tests. The main difficulty is to ensure that the vehicle behaves safely in the multitude of situations that it may face. The project 3SA, launched for four years, focuses on three major aspects of ensuring the safety of the autonomous vehicle (other than cybersecurity) :

  • the dysfunctional aspects of systems and inter-systems notably related to software bugs or hardware failures,
  • the functional safety (or SOTIF, Safety Of The Intended Functionality) centred on the erroneous decisions related in particular to a bad interpretation of the environment by the vehicle
  • and the potentially predictable misuses of the driver with the aim of identifying and preventing misuses of the system.

In the continuity of the project SVA, we will pursue and delve deeper into the following activities: the modelling of sensors, the study of simulation methods and tools for autonomous driving systems and the construction of a library of potentially safe scenarios.

Other topics developed as part of 3SA:

  • the construction of a methodological repository for validation plans and safety arguments,
  • the definition of acceptance and validation criteria for a digital test,
  • the quantification of the coverage of tests in relation to the situations that will be encountered by the vehicle in autonomous mode and of the part that is performed digitally,
  • the demonstration of the representativeness of the simulation and scenarios.

Presse

SystemX lance le projet 3SA, Simulation pour la Sécurité des systèmes du véhicule Autonome

Au cœur de ce projet : l’étude des méthodes et des outils de simulation des systèmes de conduite autonome, impliquant la modélisation des capteurs, la mise à disposition d’une bibliothèque de scénarios, le développement d’une méthode d’analyse des résultats de simulations et la constitution d’un référentiel méthodologique.

Le projet 3SA (Simulation pour la Sécurité des Systèmes du véhicule Autonome), qui s’inscrit dans le prolongement du projet SVA (Simulation pour la sécurité du Véhicule Autonome), vise à aller plus loin dans l’usage de la simulation numérique pour démontrer la sécurité du véhicule autonome particulier.

L’utilisation de la simulation pour la démonstration de la sécurité du véhicule autonome est une alternative incontournable aux essais de validation physiques. La principale difficulté est d’assurer un comportement sûr au véhicule dans la multitude de situations auxquelles il est confronté. Le projet 3SA, lancé pour une durée de quatre ans, s’intéresse aux trois grands aspects de la sécurisation du véhicule autonome (hors cybersécurité) :

  • le dysfonctionnel des systèmes et inter-systèmes liés notamment aux bugs logiciels ou aux pannes matérielles,
  • le fonctionnel sûr (ou SOTIF, Safety Of The Intended Functionality) centré sur les décisions erronées liées notamment à une mauvaise interprétation de l’environnement par le véhicule,
  • et les mésusages potentiellement prévisibles du conducteur visant à identifier et empêcher les mauvaises utilisations du système.

Dans la continuité du projet SVA, les activités suivantes seront poursuivies et approfondies : la modélisation de capteurs, l’étude des méthodes et outils de simulation des systèmes de conduite autonome et la construction de la bibliothèque de scénarios potentiellement sécuritaires.

Autres sujets développés dans le cadre de 3SA :

  • la construction d’un référentiel méthodologique pour les plans de validation et les argumentaires de sécurité,
  • la définition des critères d’acceptation et de validation d’un test numérique,
  • la quantification de la couverture des tests par rapport aux situations que rencontrera le véhicule en mode autonome et de la part réalisée numériquement,
  • la démonstration de la représentativité de la simulation et des scénarios.