Press

SystemX positions itself as a leading centre in French AI research

SystemX intends to increase the transfer of AI innovations developed within the institute to industrial players, with a focus on 4 priority application sectors: Mobility and autonomous transport; Industry of the future; Defence and Security; and Environment and Sustainable Development.

As such, SystemX plans in its roadmap for 2019-2025 to provide answers to 3 key scientific challenges of AI:

  • the implementation of the protocols of Machine Learning for the efficiency of the discriminative, generative and reinforcement approaches on big data,
  • the management of heterogeneous data and the semantic web to simultaneously take into account the qualitative and the quantitative,
  • and the explainability and robustness of automated decisions to make progress on the evaluation of AI-based decisions.

The results of this work will complement and enrich those already obtained by the IRT in terms of machine learning, textual data processing, vision and image processing, human-machine interactions, multi-agent systems, etc. They are also part of the continuity of several initiatives to which SystemX has already contributed, such as the participation in the development of the FranceIA file in 2017, the coordination of the 8 IRT’s response to the FranceIA mission and the launch of the inter-IRT EngageAI initiative.

An iconic research project on the theme of AI and Augmented Engineering

As part of its activities to strengthen the collaborative R & D capabilities of companies, SystemX will launch in the course of 2019 a major collaborative research project entitled “Artificial Intelligence and Augmented Engineering” (IA2). Its goal is to develop hybrid approaches that combine scientific computing, knowledge representation and machine learning to take into account the richness and specificities of human knowledge.

A globally recognized voice

IRT’s high-level IR knowledge and skills in AI have earned two of its representatives the opportunity to be invited as experts to participate in the working group AIGO put together by OECD, whose last meeting has just ended and whose report is expected for spring 2019. Michel Morvan, President of SystemX, and Nozha Boujemaa, President of the Scientific and Technological Council of the IRT until the end of 2018, took part in this group whose objective was to give keys to governments, companies and citizens in their use of AI.

11 SystemX Technology Demonstrators on DigiHall Day 2019

This year, CEA, Inria, IRT SystemX, Systematic and Telecom ParisTech are dedicating the DigiHall Day event to the theme of “AI, technological and societal (r)evolution”. On 28 March, roundtables, keynotes and technological demonstrators reported on the innovation dynamics of DigiHall’s players in Artificial Intelligence. On this occasion, SystemX presented 11 technological demonstrators on the themes of Mobility and Autonomous Transport, Future Industry and Defence and Security.

Read more

Presse

SystemX se positionne comme un acteur phare de la recherche française en IA

SystemX entend démultiplier les transferts des innovations IA mises au point au sein de l’IRT vers les acteurs industriels, en mettant l’accent sur 4 secteurs applicatifs prioritaires : Mobilité et Transport autonome ; Industrie du futur ; Défense et Sécurité ; et Environnement et Développement Durable.

A ce titre, SystemX prévoit dans sa feuille de route pour 2019-2025 d’apporter des réponses à 3 défis scientifiques clés de l’IA :

  • la mise en œuvre des protocoles de Machine Learning pour l’efficience des approches discriminatives, génératives et par renforcement sur les données massives,
  • la gestion des données hétérogènes et du web sémantiquepour tenir compte simultanément du qualitatif et du quantitatif,
  • et l’explicabilité et la robustesse des décisions automatiséespour progresser sur l’évaluation des décisions à base d’IA.

Les résultats de ces travaux viendront compléter et enrichir ceux déjà obtenus par l’IRT en matière d’apprentissage automatique, detraitement de données textuelles, de vision et traitement d’images, d’interactions homme-machine, de systèmes multi-agents, etc. Ils s’inscrivent également dans la continuité de plusieurs initiatives auxquelles SystemX à déjà contribué comme la participationà l’élaboration du dossier FranceIA en 2017, la coordination de la réponse des 8 IRT à la mission FranceIA et le lancement de l’initiative inter-IRT EngageAI.

Un projet de recherche emblématique sur le thème de l’ IA et de l’Ingénierie Augmentée

Dans le cadre de ses activités visant à renforcer les capacités R&D collaboratives des entreprises, SystemX lancera courant 2019 un important projet de recherche collaboratif intitulé « Intelligence Artificielle et Ingénierie Augmentée » IA2. Son objectif est de développer des approches hybrides qui coupleront calcul scientifique, représentation des connaissances et apprentissage automatique afin de prendre en compte la richesse et les spécificités du savoir humain.

Une voix reconnue au niveau mondial

Les savoirs et compétences de haut niveau en IA de l’IRT ont valu à deux de ses représentants d’être sollicités en tant qu’experts invités pour prendre part au groupe de travail AIGO réuni par l’OCDE, dont la dernière réunion vient de s’achever et dont le rapport est attendu pour le printemps 2019. Michel Morvan, Président de SystemX, et Nozha Boujemaa, Présidente du Conseil Scientifique et Technologique de l’IRT jusqu’à la fin d’année 2018, ont ainsi pris part à ce groupe dont l’objectif était de donner des clés aux gouvernements, entreprises ainsi qu’aux citoyens quant à leur utilisation de l’IA.

11 démonstrateurs technologiques SystemX sur DigiHall Day 2019

Cette année, le CEA, Inria, l’IRT SystemX, le pôle Systematic et Télécom ParisTech consacraient l’événement DigiHall Day au thème de l’« IA, (r)évolution technologique et sociétale ». Le 28 mars, des tables-rondes, keynotes et démonstrateurs technologiques ont rendu compte de la dynamique d’innovation des acteurs de DigiHall en matière d’Intelligence Artificielle. A cette occasion, SystemX présentait 11 démonstrateurs technologiques sur les thèmes de la Mobilité et du Transport Autonome, de l’Industrie du Futur et de la Défense et de la Sécurité.

Pour en savoir plus :