R&D News

Interview with Jean Oudot, the first doctoral student of IRT SystemX in Singapore

Jean Oudot began a thesis dedicated to the optimal security architecture for intelligent transportation systems in October 2017. He revisits his PhD which he completed with IRT SystemX in Singapore, in collaboration with Nanyang Technological University and Télécom ParisTech.

Why did you choose to do your thesis in Singapore? And why at IRT SystemX?

Singapore offers a very dynamic and innovative research ecosystem, by bringing together world-renowned partners. The City State is very advanced in the digital domain, particularly with its “Smart Nation” initiative with the aim of being at the forefront of digital innovation. Among the initiatives carried out, IRT SystemX participates in the Applied Research Project CETRAN (Centre of Excellence for Testing & Research of AVs – NTU) carried out by NTU’s ERI@N transversal institute (Energy Research Institute @ NTU) in order to determine the conditions for the operational and safe deployment of autonomous vehicles in Singapore. I am delighted to work daily in this extremely innovative environment, which has been very beneficial for my research. In addition, SystemX offers me the opportunity to carry out a very applied and concrete research, led by industrial players in collaboration with academic partners.

What has your attachment at the NTU brought you?

The university provides me a wide range of resources, including documentaries. I have access to many fundamental books in my field, which can be very difficult to find in libraries in France.
The working conditions are also very advantageous for a PhD student: everything is available on campus and university and laboratories are open 24 hours a day, which is very practical when working on experiments or on an article. The working atmosphere that prevails in my Singapore laboratory is also very intellectually stimulating. We are gathered with other doctoral students (a little over thirty in my laboratory) working on very similar issues. So there is a lot of exchange of ideas on each other’s work.

Can you tell us more about your thesis topic?

I work on the development of an optimal security architecture for intelligent transportation systems. As vehicles become increasingly connected, they also become more prone to cyberattacks. In this context, the objective of my thesis is to propose secure and reliable autonomous vehicle architectures, exploiting multi-objective optimization techniques and decision-making methodologies.
During the first year of my thesis, I came up with the state of the art of my domain in order to best define my objectives. I am currently working on the study of the different approaches for assessing the impact of a cyberattack on the safety of a vehicle so as to design optimal security architectures. I will endeavour to develop a framework for exploring the space for designing the autonomous vehicle, so as to identify all exploitable architectures and to offer manufacturers the possibility of selecting the most reliable ones. I will also be interested in integrating other security metrics.

Jean is the first doctoral student from SystemX to complete his thesis in Singapore as part of our partnership with Nanyang Technological University (NTU). For SystemX, which opened an office in Singapore at the end of 2017, this is a perfect example of the collaboration we want to establish with Singapore’s world-class partners. This type of project allows us to progress from an academic point of view, to give the doctoral student an international experience, and to consider future bridges between NTU and SystemX, in research, training, and with industry. We wish Jean to flourish in Singapore, and to make interesting progress in his research subject.”, François-Xavier LannuzelChief Representative, Singapore

SystemX conducts applied research in cyber-physical systems and closely collaborates with both academia and key industries in France. Since my core research area is cyber-physical systems, specifically developing theoretical foundations for safety-critical applications, I find the collaboration with SystemX to be extremely beneficial. It gives me the opportunity to further develop my research through close collaborations with French academia, and at the same time provides a readymade platform for applying the results of my research to industrial use-cases. Besides, it also gives me the opportunity to interact with some of the key stakeholders in relevant French industries and to understand their system requirements. So far this collaboration has been intellectually rewarding, and I am eagerly looking forward to continue and expand this activity.”, Arvind Easwaran, Associate Professor, Nanyang Technological University (NTU)

 

Find out more about Jean
Title of thesis
: Optimal security architecture for intelligent transportation systems
R&D project
: Cybersecurity of Intelligent Transport (CTI)
Educational qualification prior to the PhD
: Master’s Degree in Engineering from INP Grenoble

Rayonnement

Rencontre avec Jean Oudot, premier doctorant de l’IRT SystemX à Singapour

Jean a démarré une thèse dédiée à l’architecture de sécurité optimale pour les véhicules du système de transport intelligent en octobre 2017. Il nous parle de son doctorat réalisé avec l’IRT SystemX à Singapour, en collaboration avec la NTU et Télécom ParisTech.

Pourquoi as-tu choisi de réaliser ta thèse à Singapour ? Et pourquoi à l’IRT SystemX ?

Singapour offre un écosystème de recherche très dynamique et novateur, en réunissant des acteurs de renommée mondiale. La Cité-État est très avancée dans le domaine du numérique, notamment avec son initiative « Smart Nation » dans l’objectif d’être à la pointe de l’innovation numérique. Parmi les initiatives menées, l’IRT SystemX participe au projet de recherche appliquée CETRAN (Centre d’excellence pour les essais et recherches sur les véhicules autonomes) porté par l’institut transverse ERI@N de la NTU (Energy Research Institute @ NTU), afin de déterminer les conditions du déploiement opérationnel et sûr des véhicules autonomes à Singapour. Je suis ravi de travailler au quotidien au sein de cet environnement extrêmement innovant, et très bénéfique pour mes recherches. L’IRT SystemX m’offre l’opportunité de mener une recherche très appliquée et concrète, conduite par des industriels et en collaboration avec des acteurs académiques.

Que t’apporte ton rattachement à la NTU ?

L’université met à ma disposition des ressources très variées, notamment documentaires. J’ai accès à de nombreux ouvrages fondamentaux dans mon domaine, qui peuvent être très difficiles à trouver en bibliothèque en France.
Le cadre de travail est aussi très avantageux pour un doctorant : tout est à notre disposition sur le campus et l’université et les laboratoires sont ouverts 24h/24, ce qui est très pratique quand on travaille sur des expérimentations ou sur un article. L’ambiance de travail qui règne dans mon laboratoire à Singapour est également très stimulante intellectuellement parlant. Nous sommes réunis entre doctorants (un peu plus d’une trentaine) travaillant sur des problématiques très similaires. Il y a donc beaucoup d’échanges d’idées sur les travaux des uns et des autres.

Peux-tu nous parler de ton sujet de thèse ?

Les véhicules sont de plus en plus connectés et donc de plus en plus sensibles aux cyberattaques. Dans ce cadre, l’objectif de ma thèse est de proposer des architectures de véhicules autonomes sécurisées et fiables, en exploitant des techniques d’optimisation multi-objectives et des méthodologies de prises de décisions.
Pendant ma première année de thèse, j’ai réalisé un état de l’art de mon secteur pour définir au mieux mes objectifs. Je travaille aujourd’hui sur l’étude des différentes approches permettant d’évaluer l’impact d’une cyberattaque sur la sûreté de fonctionnement d’un véhicule afin de concevoir des architectures de sécurité optimale. Je me consacrerai par la suite au développement d’un framework d’exploration de l’espace de conception du véhicule autonome pour identifier toutes les architectures exploitables et ainsi offrir aux constructeurs la possibilité de sélectionner les plus fiables. Je vais également m’intéresser à l’intégration d’autres métriques de sécurité

« Jean est le premier doctorant issu de l’IRT SystemX à effectuer une partie de sa thèse à Singapour dans le cadre d’un partenariat avec la Nanyang Technological University (NTU). Il s’agit pour SystemX, qui a ouvert une antenne à Singapour fin 2017, du parfait exemple de collaboration que nous souhaitons engager avec des partenaires singapouriens de niveau mondial. Ce type de projet nous permet de progresser d’un point de vue académique, de faire bénéficier au doctorant d’une expérience à l’international, et d’envisager de futures passerelles entre la NTU et SystemX, en recherche, en formation, et avec l’industrie. Nous souhaitons à Jean de s’épanouir à Singapour, et de réaliser des avancées intéressantes dans son sujet de recherche. », François-Xavier Lannuzel, directeur de l’antenne de l’IRT SystemX à Singapour

« SystemX mène des recherches appliquées dans le domaine des systèmes cyberphysiques, sujet de recherche que j’étudie au quotidien, en partenariat avec des acteurs industriels et académiques clés en France. L’institut m’offre l’opportunité de poursuivre mes travaux en étroite collaboration avec les universités françaises, tout en m’appuyant sur sa plateforme prête à l’emploi pour appliquer les résultats de mes recherches à des cas d’usage industriels. L’IRT SystemX me permet aussi d’interagir avec les principaux acteurs de l’industrie française et de comprendre les exigences de leurs systèmes. Cette collaboration est très gratifiante sur le plan intellectuel, et je suis heureux de la poursuivre et de pouvoir l’étendre à plus long terme. », Arvind Easwaran, professeur agrégé, Nanyang Technological University (NTU)

 

En savoir plus sur Jean
Sujet de thèse 
: Architecture de sécurité optimale pour les véhicules du système de transport intelligent
Projet de R&D
: Cybersécurité du Transport Intelligent (CTI)
Diplôme obtenu avant le doctorat
: Ingénieur de l’INP Grenoble