Project description

To optimize the control strategies for the Manufacturing process by robotic metal-wire deposition.

If manufacturing processes by metal-wire deposition such as overlay welding have existed for decades, they are now experiencing a renewed interest from industrialists because, when they are exploited in the context of additive manufacturing techniques, they offer very high material removal rates and minimize problems in the areas of HSE (Health, Safety, Environment) related to the exploitation of metallic powders. Their exploitation on robotic cells requires the development of manufacturing strategies adapted to the parts to be manufactured using simulation tools, so as to guarantee the efficiency of the process while minimizing the deformations.

Launched in 2019, SystemX’s WAS project aims to optimize manufacturing strategies based on multiphysical modeling and will lead to the creation of a demonstrator. It is part of a larger project on the control of the WAAM (Wire and Arc Additive Manufacturing) process, supported by the Additive Factory Hub platform coordinated by CETIM.

Expected results

  • The development of a digital twin of the complete system, which will allow a robust and realistic simulation of the torch orientation position with respect to the part and its kinematic behaviour in all circumstances, in order to guarantee the effectiveness of the process;
  • The definition of innovative and optimal manufacturing strategies to meet the quality criteria required by the targeted applications;
  • The modelling, simulation and optimization of all or part of the process to limit deformation of parts and reduction of mechanical properties.

Implemented skills

Data science and AI
Scientific computation

Targeted markets

  • Oil and gas;
  • Aeronautics;
  • Energy production.

Supervised thesis in the framework of the project

Thesis #1: Optimization of additive manufacturing strategies by metal wire and arc deposition” done by François Rouchon (2019-2022) and supervised by Sylvain Lavernhe of the LURPA laboratory of ENS Paris-Saclay.

Badge Industry of the future
IMPROVE
Industry of the future
Project Status:État du projet : Launched
Industrial partner(s):Partenaire(s) industriel(s) :
Air liquide CETIM EDF Safran Vallourec
Academic Partner(s)Partenaire(s) académique(s)
ENS Paris-Saclay
Project Manager(s)Chef(s) de projet
Xavier Lorang
xavier.lorang[at]irt-systemx.fr

- SUBSCRIPTION NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to IRT SystemX's
newsletter

and receive every month the latest news from the institute:

Descriptif du projet

Optimiser les stratégies de pilotage de la fabrication par dépôt de fil métallique robotisé.

Si les procédés de fabrication par dépôt de fil métallique comme le rechargement par soudage existent depuis des décennies, ils connaissent un véritable regain d’intérêt de la part des industriels car, exploités dans le cadre des techniques de fabrication additive, ils proposent des taux de dépose de matière très élevés et minimisent les problématiques HSE (Hygiène, Sécurité, Environnement) liées à l’exploitation de poudres métalliques. Leur exploitation sur des cellules robotisées nécessite de développer des stratégies de fabrication adaptées aux pièces à fabriquer à l’aide d’outils de simulation, pour garantir l’efficacité du procédé tout en minimisant les déformations.

Lancé en 2019, le projet WAS vise à optimiser les stratégies de fabrication à partir de modélisations multi-physiques et aboutira à la création d’un démonstrateur. Il s’inscrit dans le cadre d’un projet plus vaste porté par la plateforme Additive Factory Hub coordonnée par le CETIM sur la maitrise du procédé WAAM (Wire and Arc Additive Manufacturing).

Résultats attendus

  • Élaboration d’un jumeau numérique du système complet, qui permettra de simuler de manière robuste et réaliste la position de l’orientation de la torche par rapport à la pièce et son comportement cinématique en toutes circonstances, pour garantir l’efficacité du procédé.
  • Définition de stratégies de fabrication innovantes et optimales pour atteindre les critères de qualité requis par les applications visées.
  • Modélisation, simulation et optimisation de tout ou partie du procédé pour limiter les déformations des pièces et réduire les abattements de propriétés mécaniques.

Compétences mises en œuvre

Science des données et IA
Calcul scientifique

Cibles visées

  • Oil and gaz
  • Aéronautique
  • Production énergétique

Thèse encadrée dans le cadre du projet

Thèse #1 : Optimisation des stratégies de fabrication additive par dépôt de fil métallique à l’arc » (SystemX / LURPA – ENS Paris-Saclay).

Badge Industrie du futur
IMPROVE
Industrie du futur
Project Status:État du projet : Lancé
Industrial partners:Partenaires industriels :
Air liquide CETIM EDF Safran Vallourec
Academic PartnersPartenaires académiques
ENS Paris-Saclay
Project ManagerChef de projet
Xavier Lorang
xavier.lorang[at]irt-systemx.fr

- ABONNEMENT NEWSLETTER

Inscrivez-vous à la newsletter de l'IRT SystemX

et recevez chaque mois les dernières actualités de l'institut :