Distinction

[My thesis in 3 years] Interview with Raissa Pokam

Raissa Pokam joined SystemX in 2014 to work on a thesis dedicated to the design of an interface with augmented reality for autonomous driving. She looks back at her PhD in the Localization and Augmented Reality (LRA) project and supervised by University of Valenciennes and University of Bretagne Sud.

 

What is the topic of your thesis?

In my PhD, I proceeded from the premise that augmented reality boosts a driver’s confidence in his automated vehicle, by helping to better understand his driving environment. The objective of my thesis was to determine what is the most relevant information to communicate to the driver through a head-up display.
In order to do this, I have had to answer three underlying questions: What are the pieces of information to display? How do we display such information? When do we display them?I was particularly interested in the information to display during the lane changing phase. Indeed, this requires considering several environmental parameters and to justify the behaviour of the car in automated mode.
A part of my work has been used by Renault group to design the recently tested Symbioz prototype interface.

What do you remember from your doctorate?

SystemX gave me the opportunity to enhance my thesis by interacting with people from very different industrial and academic backgrounds. I have also developed my knowledge in many fields related to future, such as the Smart Home or cybersecurity, thanks to other R & D projects carried out within the institute.

Can you tell us about your best memory at SystemX?

I was fortunate to be selected for the Paris-Saclay final of the contest “My PhD thesis in 180 seconds”. The challenge was to deliver, in just three minutes, a clear, concise and compelling presentation of my research project to a layman audience. I was able to enjoy special support from my colleagues at SystemX who was there for me throughout the competition.

What are your plans for the future?

I wish to work in research and development in the field of design of interfaces or of other systems.

 

Find out more about Raissa Pokam
Thesis subject: Design of an interface with augmented reality for autonomous driving
Project: Localization and Augmented Reality (LRA)
Qualification obtained before the doctorate: Engineering Degree in Operating Safety / Master’s Degree in Systems Optimization and Safety (Université Technologique de Troyes)
> Review the performance of Raissa during the final of the Paris-Saclay contest “My thesis in 180 seconds”

Distinction

[Ma thèse en 3 ans] Interview avec Raissa Pokam

Raissa Pokam a rejoint l’IRT SystemX en 2014 pour réaliser une thèse dédiée à la conception d’une interface avec réalité augmentée pour la conduite automobile autonome. Elle revient sur son doctorat réalisé au sein du projet Localisation Réalité Augmentée (LRA) de l’IRT SystemX et supervisé par l’Université de Valenciennes et l’Université de Bretagne Sud.

 

Quel est le sujet de votre thèse ?

Dans le cadre de mon doctorat, je suis partie de l’hypothèse que la réalité augmentée favorise la confiance qu’a un conducteur en son véhicule autonome, en lui apportant une bonne compréhension de son environnement de conduite. Le but de ma thèse était de déterminer les informations les plus pertinentes à communiquer au conducteur à partir d’un affichage tête haute.
J’ai pour cela répondu à trois questions sous-jacentes : Quelles sont les informations à afficher ? Comment afficher ces informations ? Quand afficher ces informations ? Je me suis intéressée en particulier aux informations à afficher durant la phase de changement de voie. En effet, celle-ci requiert de prendre en compte plusieurs paramètres de l’environnement et de justifier le comportement de la voiture en mode autonome.
Une partie de mes travaux a été exploitée par le groupe Renault dans le cadre de la conception de l’interface du prototype Symbioz, récemment testé.

Que retenez-vous de votre doctorat ?

L’IRT SystemX m’a donné la possibilité d’enrichir ma thèse en échangeant avec des personnes issues de milieux industriels et académiques très différents. J’ai aussi développé mes connaissances dans de nombreux domaines d’avenir, tels que la Smart Homeou la cybersécurité, grâce aux autres projets de R&D menés au sein de l’institut.

Pouvez-vous nous parler de votre meilleur souvenir à SystemX ?

J’ai eu la chance d’être sélectionnée pour la finale Paris-Saclay du concours « Ma thèse en 180 secondes ». Le défi était de réaliser, en trois minutes seulement, un exposé clair, concis et convaincant de mon projet de recherche auprès d’un public profane. J’ai bénéficié d’un soutien unique de la part de mes collègues de l’IRT SystemX qui m’ont porté tout au long de la compétition.

Quels sont vos projets pour la suite ?

Je souhaite travailler dans la recherche et le développement dans le domaine de la conception d’interfaces ou d’autres systèmes.

 

En savoir plus sur Raissa Pokam
Sujet de thèse : Conception d’une interface avec réalité augmentée pour la conduite automobile autonome
Projet : Localisation Réalité Augmentée (LRA)
Diplôme : Ingénieur en sûreté de fonctionnement et Master en optimisation et sûreté des systèmes (Université Technologique de Troyes)
> Revoir la prestation de Raissa lors de la finale Paris-Saclay du concours « Ma thèse en 180 secondes »