Distinction

[My thesis in 3 years] Interview with Fallilou Diop

Fallilou Diop joined IRT SystemX in January 2015 to work on a thesis dedicated to probabilistic analyses for the study of electricity distribution networks. He looks back on his doctorate, which was completed as part of the Smart City Energy Analytics (SCE) project of IRT SystemX and supervised by CentraleSupélec.

 

What is the topic of your thesis?
The central topic of my doctorate was based on the study of photovoltaic panels and low voltage and medium voltage electricity distribution networks. More specifically, the objective of my thesis was to estimate the impacts of photovoltaic production on electricity distribution networks.
The particularity of photovoltaic production lies in its intermittent nature: in a single day, there may be several random variations in production. In order to take into account this intermittency, I developed probabilistic models which, thanks to a modelling of the photovoltaic production and the consumption of the electric vehicles, make it possible to estimate the impacts of the photovoltaic production and the consumption of the electric vehicles on electricity networks. This estimate can be used by the network manager during the planning and sizing phases of network equipping.

What do you remember from your doctorate?
The doctorate is a very demanding exercise, requiring a lot of intellectual effort and a great personal investment. I learned to excel and endure to complete my work. I was fortunate to have great scientific, technical and moral support from my supervisors at IRT SystemX and CentraleSupélec for the entire duration of my thesis.

What was the favourite part that you can remember about your time with SystemX?
The first edition of the event ThesisDay@SystemXin 2017. I was delighted to take on the challenge of popularizing the “3mn to Convince” contest and to be awarded the Jury Prize. Indeed, I am very reserved in nature and this contest has allowed me to step out of my comfort zone thanks to a unique support of IRT SystemX and the Agent Majeur agency.

What are your plans for the future?
I was hired in April as a consultant at Yélé, a consulting company specializing in energy and digital technology. I am currently on a mission at Enedis, where I participate in the development of a software to carry out studies on low voltage and medium voltage distribution networks.

 

Find out more about Fallilou Diop
Thesis subjectProbabilistic analysis for distribution electrical network study
Qualification obtained before the doctorate: Master’s Degree in Engineering from Supélec
R&D project: Smart City Energy Analytics (SCE)

> Watch Fallilou’s performance in the contest “3 minutes to convince you”:

Distinction

[Ma thèse en 3 ans] Interview avec Fallilou Diop

Fallilou Diop a rejoint l’IRT SystemX en janvier 2015 pour réaliser une thèse dédiée à l’analyse probabiliste pour l’étude des réseaux électriques de distribution. Il revient sur son doctorat effectué au sein du projet Smart City Energy Analytics (SCE) de l’IRT SystemX et supervisé par CentraleSupélec.

 

Quel était le sujet de votre thèse ?
Le sujet central de mon doctorat reposait sur l’étude des panneaux photovoltaïques et des réseaux de distribution d’électricité basse tension et moyenne tension. Plus précisément, l’objectif de mes travaux de thèse consistait à estimer les impacts de la production photovoltaïque sur les réseaux de distribution d’électricité.
La particularité de la production photovoltaïque réside dans son caractère intermittent : au cours d’une journée, il peut y avoir plusieurs variations aléatoires de la production. Afin de prendre en compte cette intermittence, j’ai développé des modèles probabilistes qui, grâce à une modélisation de la production photovoltaïque et de la consommation des véhicules électriques, permettent d’estimer les impacts de cette production et de cette consommation sur les réseaux d’électricité. Cette estimation peut servir au gestionnaire du réseau lors des phases de planification et de dimensionnement des équipements du réseau.

Que retenez-vous de votre doctorat ?
Le doctorat est un exercice très exigeant, demandant beaucoup d’efforts intellectuels et un grand investissement personnel. J’ai appris à me surpasser et à être endurant pour mener à bien mes travaux. J’ai eu la chance de bénéficier d’un grand soutien scientifique, technique et moral de mes encadrants de l’IRT SystemX et de CentraleSupélec.

Pouvez-vous nous parler de votre meilleur souvenir à SystemX ?
La première édition de l’événement ThesisDay@SystemX en 2017. J’ai été ravi de relever le défi de la vulgarisation lors du concours « 3mn pour convaincre » et d’avoir été récompensé par le prix du jury. Je suis de nature très réservée et ce concours m’a permis de surpasser ma zone de confort grâce à un accompagnement unique de l’IRT SystemX et de l’agence Agent Majeur.

Quels sont vos projets pour la suite ?
J’ai été embauché en avril en tant que consultant chez Yélé, entreprise de consulting spécialisée dans l’énergie et le numérique. Je suis actuellement en mission chez Enedis où je participe au développement d’un logiciel pour réaliser des études sur les réseaux de distribution basse tension et moyenne tension.

 

En savoir plus sur Fallilou Diop
Sujet de thèse : Analyse probabiliste pour l’étude des réseaux électriques de distribution
Diplôme : diplôme d’ingénieur de Supélec
Projet de R&D : Smart City Energy Analytics (SCE)

> Revoir la prestation de Fallilou lors du concours « 3 minutes pour convaincre »