Inria, SystemX, Télécom ParisTech and Télécom SudParis to launch BART

The creation of the Blockchain Advanced Research & Technologies (BART) joint research initiative, a first in the blockchain field in France, has been concretised by a three-year renewable framework agreement. Some thirty researchers from four institutions are adopting a common roadmap, pooling their resources and competencies to overcome the scientific obstacles associated with this disruptive technology.


At a launch event held at Télécom ParisTech on 6 March 2018, Inria, SystemX, Télécom ParisTech and Télécom SudParis announced that they were to pool their competencies in the blockchain field as defined in a framework agreement formalising the joint research initiative known as Blockchain Advanced Research & Technologies (BART). It all started in late 2016 when the partners realised the need for scientific research that would feed into various IRT SystemX projects in the future. The BART initiative came out of the desire to assemble a vast research ecosystem in Paris Region – consisting of some thirty researchers – around a common roadmap with the objective of overcoming the scientific obstacles preventing blockchain’s development, in keeping with the needs of society and industry, provide an impetus for joint coordination and make their work more widely known. Until now, all the stakeholders involved have been working in isolation or bilaterally on blockchain research.

BART is currently the biggest academic research collective working on blockchain in France. The researchers from Inria, SystemX, Télécom ParisTech and Télécom SudParis will remain affiliated to their respective institutions but will work together according to a roadmap structured around six themes: theoretical models, scalability and monitoring tools, security, process architecture, data confidentiality and economic models/regulation.

The framework agreement has been signed for a period of six years. In the initial phase, a minimum of four PhD theses will be funded by the IRT SystemX and directed by researchers or lecturer-researchers from Inria, Télécom ParisTech or Télécom SudParis. Work began on the first theses in early 2018 and more will be added from September to meet the challenges of the IRT’s industrial partners.

BART will set up joint activities within the ecosystem to coordinate the initiatives of all its stakeholders (discussion days, seminars, calls for startups, special international conference sessions) and also launch new initiatives.

Finally, the results of work carried out as part of the BART programme will be boosted, in the form of promotion and dissemination, by leveraging the power of the institutes involved as well as the associated ecosystem, particularly the industrial network.


Find out more:

Presse

Inria, SystemX, Télécom ParisTech et Télécom SudParis lancent BART

Un accord-cadre concrétise la création de l’initiative commune de recherche BART (Blockchain Advanced Research & Technologies) : une première en France dans le domaine de la Blockchain. Une trentaine de chercheurs de quatre institutions mutualisent leurs compétences et efforts de recherche pour lever les verrous scientifiques liés à cette technologie disruptive, selon une feuille de route commune, définie pour une durée de trois ans renouvelable.

 

Inria, SystemX, Télécom ParisTech et Télécom SudParis, ont annoncé, lors d’un évènement de lancement dans les locaux de Télécom ParisTech le 6 mars 2018, la mutualisation de leurs compétences en Blockchain selon un accord-cadre formalisant l’initiative commune de recherche « BART » (Blockchain Advanced Research & Technologies). Tout a démarré fin 2016 avec la compréhension par les partenaires de la nécessité d’entreprendre des travaux de nature scientifique capables d’irriguer plusieurs projets de l’IRT SystemX dans le futur. L’initiative BART est ainsi née de cette volonté de fédérer un vaste écosystème de recherche francilien – une trentaine de chercheurs – autour d’une feuille de route commune visant à lever les verrous scientifiques de la Blockchain en adéquation avec les besoins sociétaux et industriels, d’impulser une animation commune et de donner plus d’échos à leurs travaux. Jusqu’ici, l’ensemble des acteurs impliqués travaillaient isolément ou de manière bilatérale sur ce sujet de la Blockchain.

Aujourd’hui BART constitue le plus important collectif de recherche académique dédié à la Blockchain en France. Les chercheurs de Inria, SystemX, Télécom ParisTech et Télécom SudParis resteront affiliés à leurs établissements, mais travailleront de concert selon une feuille de route articulée autour de six axes : les modèles théoriques, le passage à l’échelle et les outils de monitoring, la sécurité, les architectures, la confidentialité des données et les modèles économiques/la régulation.

Cet accord-cadre est signé pour une durée de six ans. Dans la première phase, a minima quatre thèses seront financées par l’IRT SystemX avec une direction par des chercheurs ou enseignants-chercheurs d’Inria, de Télécom ParisTech ou de Télécom SudParis. Des premières thèses ont été lancées début 2018 et se renforceront dès septembre pour répondre aux enjeux des industriels partenaires de l’IRT.

BART mettra en œuvre des actions communes d’animation scientifique auprès de son écosystème, avec l’objectif de réunir des initiatives portées par chacun de ses acteurs (journées d’échanges, séminaires, appels à start-up, sessions spéciales de conférences internationales) et aussi de lancer de nouvelles actions.

Enfin, les résultats obtenus dans le cadre des travaux BART tireront profit, en matière de valorisation et de dissémination, de l’effet amplificateur de la force de frappe des instituts impliqués et de l’écosystème associé, notamment industriel.

 

Pour aller plus loin :