Autonomous Transport

d0503_pictosexports_en03

The 2016-2020s will see the gradual commercialization of new transport solutions, which increasingly rely on automatic driving and operations. This will constitute a major disruption for these systems. It is necessary to provide the transport industry with an  improved security, a better quality of service and energy performance, a new user experience, more comfort, more time for drivers and operators, a capacity increase, facilities for disabled persons, and more generally a new planning for the city and the urban life.

In this domain, SystemX proposes developing new secured and safe architectures for autonomous vehicles and transport systems, integrating new uses, critical onboard systems, infrastructure evolution and their interactions.

Industrial challenges

Autonomous vehicles, for which safety is a real challenge, call for major technological breakthroughs. The SystemX IRT aims to become a leader in the field of complex systems security.

Fitted with sensors and innovative control systems, these vehicles will improve road safety and ensure that, over time, and in a manner that is totally safe, drivers will have more free time or productive time. They will also help to improve traffic flow, develop new flexible and adaptable public transport services that take advantage of these improvements, and make transport more accessible to people with disabilities, the elderly and society’s most vulnerable.

The challenges with regard to safety are far-reaching and present at every stage of development, from design up until validation, and need to be faced in order to demonstrate the safety of autonomous vehicles (safety dossier of the autonomous vehicle, statutory since standard ISO 26262).

The inherent complexity of autonomous vehicles, which incorporate a wide-range of components (sensors, location, navigation, automatic control, etc.), and operating situations (interaction with other non-autonomous or autonomous vehicles, pedestrians, infrastructure, environment, etc.) , makes simulation all the more necessary, in order to concentrate “”field”” validations on what is strictly necessary, and thus reduce engineering time and development costs to a minimum.

The industrial challenges for which SystemX proposes offering help to develop and deploy autonomous Transport services and solutions are:

  • Modelling and simulating autonomous transport systems
  • Designing safe architectures ready for future developments in autonomous vehicles
  • Developing safe and secure hardware and software platforms
  • Guaranteeing optimal traffic management
  • Ensuring the consistency of human/vehicle/environmental interactions

Example of use cases

  • Modelling and simulating the level 4 autonomous vehicle to demonstrate its safety
  • Designing a safe software architecture to control an automated metro
  • Ensuring the cohesion of vehicle/driver interactions in the cabin of an autonomous vehicle

 

Discover the projects conducted within the IRT SystemX linked to this research axis:
CTI project
ELA project
FSF project
ISE project
LRA project
PST project
SCA project
SVA project
TAS project

Transport Autonome

d0503_pictosexports_fr03

Les années 2016-2020 verront la commercialisation progressive de nouvelles solutions de transport faisant de plus en plus appel à  l’automatisation de la conduite et des opérations, ce qui constituera une rupture majeure pour ces systèmes. Il s’agit d’apporter au  transport une sécurité accrue, une bien meilleure qualité de service et performance énergétique, une nouvelle expérience utilisateur, davantage de confort, du temps dégagé pour les conducteurs et les opérateurs, une augmentation capacitaire, de meilleurs accès pour
les handicapés, et plus globalement une nouvelle planification de la ville et de la vie urbaine.

L’IRT SystemX se propose dans ce domaine de développer de nouvelles architectures sécurisées et sûres de véhicules et de systèmes de transports autonomes, intégrant les nouveaux usages, les systèmes embarqués critiques, l’évolution des infrastructures, et leurs interactions..

Défis industriels

Le véhicule autonome, dont la sécurité est un véritable défi, appelle des percées technologiques majeures. L’IRT SystemX vise à devenir un leader en sécurité des systèmes complexes.

Equipés de capteurs et de systèmes de commande innovants, ces véhicules contribueront à renforcer la sécurité routière et à dégager à terme pour les conducteurs, en toute sécurité, un nouveau temps libre ou productif. Ils permettront également de fluidifier le trafic, de développer de nouveaux services de transport public souples et adaptables en fonction des flux, et de rendre le transport plus accessible aux personnes en situation de handicap, aux personnes âgées et aux publics les plus vulnérables.

Les enjeux de la sécurité sont larges et omniprésents, de la conception jusqu’à la validation, afin de démontrer la sécurité du véhicule autonome (dossier de sécurité du véhicule autonome, réglementaire depuis la norme Iso 26262).

La complexité inhérente au véhicule autonome, intégrant de multiples composants (capteurs, localisation, navigation, pilotage automatique, etc.), et aux situations de fonctionnement (interaction avec d’autres véhicules non autonomes, ou autonomes, piétons, infrastructure, environnement, etc.) , rend l’utilisation de la simulation d’autant plus nécessaire, afin de focaliser les validations « terrain » au strict nécessaire, afin de réduire les temps d’ingénierie et de minimiser les coûts de développement.

Les défis industriels que SystemX se propose de contribuer à relever pour le développement et le déploiement de services et solutions de Transport autonome sont les suivants:

  • Modéliser et simuler des systèmes de transport autonome
  • Concevoir des architectures sûres et prêtes aux évolutions pour le véhicule autonome
  • Développer des plateformes matérielles et logicielles sécurisées et sûres
  • Garantir la gestion optimale du trafic
  • Opérer la cohérence des interactions humain/véhicule/environnement

Exemples de cas d’usages

  • Garantir la gestion optimale du trafic
  • Opérer la cohérence des interactions humain/véhicule/environnement

 

Découvrez les projets menés au sein de l’IRT, liés à cet axe de recherche :
Le projet CTI
Le projet ELA
Le projet FSF
Le projet ISE
Le projet LRA
Le projet PST
Le projet SCA
Le projet SVA
Le projet TAS

 

Solution industrielle Mobilité écologique – volet véhicule autonome

L’IRT SystemX est en charge de coordonner les travaux liés à la sécurité du véhicule autonome dans le cadre du volet véhicule autonome de la solution industrielle Mobilité écologique . L’un des objectifs du « groupe de travail Sécurité » est de recommander les méthodes et les outils pour l’aide à la conception et la validation du véhicule autonome.

Groupe de travail « Sécurité des systèmes autonomes » au sein de Embedded France

L’IRT participe au groupe de travail Embedded France « Sécurité des systèmes autonomes » lancé le 7 novembre dernier.

Aller plus loin