Smart Territories

d0503_pictosexports_en02

In the context of the move to towns by the global population, with an extra 2.5 billion city dwellers expected by 2050, and the limited natural resources available, towns and more generally, socio-economic territories, will, over the next 5 years, deploy new highly-innovative solutions and services that make use of digital technologies in order to contribute to making districts, towns, regions, countries more inhabitable, more sustainable, more secure and more attractive for citizens and economic stakeholders.

In this domain SystemX proposes developing decision-making help tools for the optimisation and operational planning of the evolution of Smart Territories, by collecting and analysing large masses of data.

Industrial challenges

Constraints linked to the environment and energy, to ever-increasing mobility, to an approach guided by uses and costs, whether under development or already in use, to the acknowledgement of local needs, mean that any solutions put forward on the global market must have qualities such as adaptability, simplicity, observability, performance, a cost that is appropriate to the function, a genuine added value for the user, acknowledgement of operational safety and security.

In this context, modelling, data correlation, big data, machine learning, anonymisation, traceability, etc.… and taking into account connected objects constitute a major change.

Local services in many domains, such as e-commerce, the silver economy, digital confidence, e-health, energy transition, connected vehicles, connected homes, connected towns… and existing services enhanced by digital technology such as urban delivery logistics, connected mail boxes, will be developed.

In order for these services to be sustainable, the focus needs to be the interests of the human user, the needs in terms of ethics and trust need to be identified, and effective structures, procedures, processes and services need to be implemented, without forgetting the legal and regulatory aspects, acceptability and ergonomy.

The industrial challenges for which SystemX proposes offering help to enable the development and deployment of innovative services within the Smart Territories are:

  • Modelling and simulating smart territories by incorporating all scales
  • Designing modular and re-usable architectures for territories that are changing
  • Developing platforms that support services for all stakeholders
  • Guaranteeing confidence in and the security of the data processing
  • Implementing interoperability and system performance within a territory

 

Examples of use cases

  • Modelling and simulating multimodal transport in densely-populated areas
  • Designing data architecture for eco-district energy optimisation
  • Guaranteeing the cybersecurity of smart grids and connected vehicles

 

Discover the projects conducted within the IRT SystemX linked to this research axis:

Anthropolis Chair
BST project
MIC project
MSM project
IMM project
SCE project

Territoires Intelligents

d0503_pictosexports_fr02

Dans le contexte de l’urbanisation croissante de la population mondiale, avec 2,5 milliards de citadins supplémentaires à l’horizon 2050, et de la limitation des ressources naturelles, les villes, et plus largement les territoires sociaux-économiques, vont dans les 5 prochaines années déployer de nouvelles solutions et services très innovants s’appuyant sur les technologies numériques afin de contribuer à rendre les quartiers, les villes, les régions, les pays plus habitables, plus durables, plus sûrs, et plus attractifs pour les citoyens et les acteurs économiques.
SystemX se propose dans ce domaine de développer des outils d’aide à la décision pour l’optimisation et la planification opérationnelle de l’évolution des Smart Territories, en s’appuyant sur la collecte et l’analyse de grandes masses de données.

 

Défis industriels

Les contraintes liées à l’environnement et à l’énergie, à une mobilité de plus en plus importante, à une démarche guidée par les usages et les coûts, que ce soit en développement ou en utilisation, à une prise en compte des besoins locaux, imposent que les solutions proposées sur le marché mondial disposent de qualités comme l’adaptabilité, la simplicité, l’observabilité, la performance, un coût approprié à la fonction, une réelle valeur ajoutée pour l’utilisateur, la prise en compte de la sécurité et de la sûreté de fonctionnement.

Dans ce contexte, la modélisation, le croisement de données, « big data », « machine learning », anonymisation, traçabilité, etc.… et prise en compte des objets connectés constituent une rupture.

Des services de proximité dans de nombreux domaines, tels que, e-commerce, silver économie, confiance numérique, e-santé, transition énergétique, véhicule connecté, habitat connecté, ville connectée… et des services existants augmentés par le numérique tels que la logistique urbaine de livraison, les boites aux lettres connectées, vont faire leur apparition.
Pour qu’ils soient pérennes, il faudra remettre l’humain-utilisateur au centre, identifier les besoins en termes d’éthique et de confiance, et mettre en œuvre des structures, procédés, processus et services qui y répondent effectivement, sans oublier les aspects juridiques et règlementaires, acceptabilité et ergonomie.

Les défis industriels que SystemX se propose de contribuer à relever pour permettre le développement et le déploiement de services innovants au sein des Territoires intelligents sont les suivants:

  • Modéliser et simuler les territoires intelligents en intégrant toutes les échelles
  • Concevoir des architectures durables pour les territoires en évolution
  • Développer des plateformes supportant des services pour l’ensemble des acteurs
  • Garantir la confiance et la sécurité du traitement des données
  • Opérer l’interopérabilité et la performance des systèmes au sein d’un territoire

Exemples de cas d’usages

  • Modéliser et simuler le transport multimodal en zone dense
  • Concevoir une architecture de données pour l’optimisation énergétique de l’éco-quartier
  • Garantir la cybersécurité des smart grids et du véhicule connecté

Découvrez les projets menés au sein de l’IRT, liés à cet axe de recherche :
La Chaire Anthropolis
Le projet BST
Le projet MIC
Le projet MSM
Le projet IMM
Le projet SCE

Aller plus loin