Digital Engineering

Since the 20th century, society and the economy are facing to a genuine digital revolution with the emergence and explosion of Information Technologies and Communication (ICT).

The digital era: towards more complex systems

Since the 20th century, society and the economy are facing a genuine digital revolution with the emergence and explosion of Information and Communication Technologies (ICT). The acceleration of scientific and technological advances impacts our daily lives whether it be concerning our living standards, access to knowledge, transport, health or safety. All these services are based on increasingly complex, interconnected and rapidly renewed systems.

The competitiveness of the 21st century’s economy and its industry is based on digital engineering breakthroughs and the dissemination of these skills to all sectors of the economy.

Becoming the global reference in the field of digital engineering

SystemX positions itself as an accelerator of the digital transformation. Centered on digital systems engineering, the research projects within SystemX address the challenges that industrial companies and corporations are encountering in the design, modeling, simulation and experimentation of future products and services that will increasingly have to integrate digital technologies.

 

B0102_Signature_mail_4vecto-CS6_AB_GB_maj2016

 

Technological progress and the need to integrate these technologies involve the taking into account of a new paradigm, through a “systems” approach – and even a “systems of systems” approach. The key fields of expertise defined within each technological roadmap of SystemX are: Agile Industry, Autonomous Transport, Smart Territories, Internet of Trust.

In this context, the IRT SystemX chose to position itself in the sector of digital engineering of complex systems and more specifically on:

  • Energy
  • Transportation and mobility
  • Telecommunications
  • Security and defense

All of SystemX’s actions and skills find their applications in the technological challenges related to the plans of the “New Industrial France” that are: advanced manufacturing, automatically-piloted vehicle, embedded software and systems, cybersecurity, cloud computing, and big data.

New challenges for training

From this digital revolution emerges new professions, businesses and new skill needs. The training program developed by the IRT notably aims to develop the skills necessary to train the engineers of the future.

L’ingénierie numérique

La société et l’économie sont confrontées depuis le 20ème siècle à une véritable révolution numérique avec l’émergence, puis l’explosion des Technologies de l’Information et de la Communication (TIC).

L’ère du numérique : vers des systèmes plus complexes

L’accélération des percées scientifiques et technologiques impacte notre quotidien qu’il s’agisse du niveau de vie, de l’accès à la connaissance, des transports, de la santé ou de la sécurité. Tous ces services s’appuient sur des systèmes de plus en plus complexes, interconnectés et rapidement renouvelés.
La compétitivité de l’économie du 21e siècle et de son industrie s’appuie sur les percées de l’Ingénierie Numérique et sur la diffusion de ces compétences à tous les secteurs économiques.

Devenir la référence mondiale dans le domaine de l’ingénierie numérique

SystemX se positionne comme accélérateur de la transformation numérique. Centrés sur l’ingénierie numérique des systèmes, les projets de recherche au sein de SystemX répondent aux défis que rencontrent les industriels dans les phases de conception, de modélisation, de simulation et d’expérimentation de produits et services futurs qui devront intégrer de plus en plus les technologies numériques.

PictosZones-FR

L’évolution des technologies et la nécessité de leur intégration impliquent de tenir compte d’un nouveau paradigme par une approche « systèmes » voire « systèmes de systèmes ». Les domaines stratégiques définis dans la feuille de route technologique de SystemX sont les suivants : ingénierie systèmes, transport autonome, territoires intelligents, internet de confiance.

Dans ce contexte, l’IRT SystemX a choisi de se positionner sur la filière de l’ingénierie numérique des systèmes du futur et plus particulièrement sur :
•    l’énergie ;
•    les transports et la mobilité ;
•    les télécommunications ;
•    la sécurité et la défense.

 

Toutes les actions et compétences de SystemX trouvent leurs applications dans les défis technologiques associés aux plans de la Nouvelle France industrielle que sont l’Usine du Futur, le Véhicule à Pilotage automatique, les Logiciels et systèmes embarqués, la Cybersécurité, le Cloud computing et le Big Data.

De nouveaux enjeux pour la formation

Cette révolution numérique fait émerger de nouveaux métiers ainsi que de nouveaux besoins en compétences. Le programme de Formation  mis en place par l’IRT vise notamment à développer les compétences nécessaires pour former les ingénieurs du futur.