Press

SystemX to launch the TOP (Topology Optimization Platform) project

The Topology Optimization Platform (TOP) project implements line level technology to give industrial design departments innovative tools for topology optimization.

These tools will enable demands for complex component design to be met, and help create high-performance, innovative products in a highly competitive economic environment. The work targets the automobile, aeronautics and aerospace industries more particularly.

For the TOP project, SystemX is looking at development of high-performance, sturdy digital design tools based on topology optimization using the line level method. It will attempt to demonstrate their industrial feasibility and also intends to contribute to the scientific state of the art in this field.

Topology optimization is both a design methodology widely used in industry, and the science that gave birth to it. Its purpose is to generate a mechanical component as efficient as possible, following the user’s specifications, by directly calculating the spread of material within a given volume. Its intrinsic characteristics, especially its simple implementation and capacity to propose breakthrough concepts, make it particularly attractive for industrial users. The solutions available on the market almost all use the density method, a mature technology suitable for components the functional definition of which is relatively simple, but it is unsatisfactory for creating complex systems with demanding specifications (such as oil sumps, engine blocks etc).

Presse

SystemX lance le projet TOP (Topology Optimization Platform)

Le projet Topology Optimization Platform (TOP) met en œuvre la technologie des lignes de niveau pour doter les bureaux d’études industriels d’outils d’optimisation topologique innovants.

Ceux-ci permettront de traiter les demandes de conception de pièces complexes pour créer des produits performants et novateurs dans un environnement économique fortement concurrentiel. Ces travaux ciblent en particulier les industries automobile, aéronautique et aérospatiale.

SystemX s’intéresse, dans le cadre du projet TOP, au développement d’outils de conception numériques performants et robustes reposant sur la technologie de l’optimisation topologique par la méthode des lignes de niveau. Il s’attachera à démontrer leur faisabilité industrielle et entend également contribuer à l’état de l’art scientifique dans le domaine.

L’optimisation topologique désigne à la fois une méthodologie de conception largement adoptée dans l’industrie et la discipline scientifique qui lui a donné naissance. Elle vise à générer une pièce mécanique aussi performante que possible et conforme au cahier des charges fixé par l’utilisateur, en calculant directement la répartition de la matière au sein d’un volume donné. Ses caractéristiques propres, en particulier la simplicité de sa mise en œuvre et sa capacité à proposer des concepts en rupture, la rendent particulièrement attractive pour les utilisateurs industriels. Les solutions disponibles sur le marché emploient de manière quasi-universelle la méthode des densités, une technologie mature qui convient aux pièces dont la définition fonctionnelle est relativement simple mais reste peu satisfaisante pour la création de systèmes complexes répondant à des spécifications exigeantes (ex : carter d’huile, bloc moteur, etc.).