Press

SystemX launches the Interactive Multimodal Cockpit (CMI) project

The CMI project focuses on the cockpit of the autonomous vehicle. It will define the best possible combinations of Human-Machine Interaction (HMI) solutions that solicit different human senses (sight, hearing, touch) to reduce the driver’s visual cognitive load and improve his intuitiveness.

 

Focusing on the development, evaluation and orchestration of human-machine interaction (HMI) solutions with several sensory modalities, the Interactive Multimodal Cockpit (CMI) project aims to reduce the attention load of drivers in the context of perception-action loops of the vehicle. Mainly the visual, auditory and haptic modalities will be studied. The use of the olfactory modality can be considered punctually.

This research project aims to respond to new issues and to remove the scientific obstacles related to the increase of on-board digital functions and technologies, with a particular focus on the impacts related to the automation of the vehicle (levels 1 to 4 of the SAE classification). “Transitions” between the different levels of automation must also be made effective by the multimodality of interactions, without losing sight of security, especially for transitions to more manual driving.

Read more:

Presse

SystemX lance le projet Cockpit Multimodal Interactif (CMI)

Le projet CMI se focalise sur le cockpit du véhicule autonome. Il s’attachera à définir les meilleures combinaisons possibles de solutions d’IHM sollicitant différents sens humains (la vue, l’ouïe, le toucher) pour réduire la charge cognitive visuelle du conducteur et améliorer son intuitivité.

 

Centré sur le développement, l’évaluation et l’orchestration de solutions d’interactions Homme-Machine (IHM) à plusieurs modalités sensorielles, le projet Cockpit Multimodal Interactif (CMI) vise à réduire la charge attentionnelle des conducteurs dans le cadre des boucles perception-actiondu véhicule. Seront étudiées principalement les modalités visuelle, auditive et haptique. Le recours à la modalité olfactive pourra être envisagé ponctuellement.

Ce projet de recherche a pour objectif de répondre aux nouvelles problématiques et de lever les verrous scientifiques liés à l’accroissement des fonctions et technologies numériques embarquées, avec un regard particulier sur les impacts liés à l’automatisation du véhicule (niveaux 1 à 4 de la classification SAE). Les « transitions » entre les différents niveaux d’automatisation doivent aussi être rendues efficaces à l’aide de la multimodalité des interactions, sans perdrede vue la sécurité,notamment pour des transitions vers une conduite plus manuelle.

Pour en savoir plus :