TAS

Safe Autonomous Land Transport

Challenges

A train driver’s observation functions are key to safe operation of the transportation system: his skill at distinguishing signaling, seeing someone on a platform, checking anomalies in a train from the other direction, or seeing objects on the tracks are all essential to high levels of operating safety. Automating these observation functions will lead to optimum safety in transportation systems. 
To meet this challenge, SystemX and its partners have launched the TAS project to deliver design proof for automating the driver’s observation functions and giving a concrete demonstration. The solution envisaged will combine various types of sensor and provide advanced functions in artificial intelligence. It will be tested virtually in the laboratory using full modeling.

Goal

The purpose of the TAS project, launched in April 2017 for a two year period, is to design a system of perceiving the environment based on a combination of complementary sensors (radars, lidar cameras etc.)  This system and its environment will first be modeled in the laboratory to test the technological choices of sensors and ensure an initial virtual validation via an iterative approach. Then there will be life sized on-site testing which is envisaged on an SNCF-owned locomotive between Villeneuve Saint-Georges and Montereau.

Target markets

The TAS project is aimed at the terrestrial guided transportation field.

Further information

Launched
Mobility and autonomous transport
Industrial Partners
Alstom SNCF SYSTRA
Academic Partners
Université Technologique de Compiègne (UTC)
Project Manager
Raphaël CHOSIDOW
raphael.chosidow@www.irt-systemx.fr

TAS

Transport terrestre Autonome en Sécurité dans son Environnement

Défis

Les fonctions d’observation d’un conducteur de matériel roulant sont au cœur de la sûreté de fonctionnement du système de transport : savoir distinguer les panneaux de signalisation, repérer un piéton sur un quai, surveiller des anomalies sur un train en croisement ou encore repérer des objets sur les voies visant un très haut niveau de sureté́ de fonctionnement. L’automatisation de ces fonctions d’observation permettra d’assurer un niveau de sécurité optimal des systèmes de transport.
Pour répondre à ce défi, l’IRT SystemX et ses partenaires ont lancé le projet TAS dont l’enjeu est de délivrer une preuve de concept de l’automatisation des fonctions d’observation d’un conducteur et d’en faire une démonstration concrète. La solution envisagée combinera différents types de capteurs, offrira une des fonctionnalités avancées en Intelligence Artificielle (IA) et sera testée virtuellement en laboratoire grâce à sa complète modélisation.

Objectif

Le projet TAS, lancé en avril 2017 pour une durée de deux ans, a pour objectif de concevoir un système de perception de l’environnement qui s’appuiera sur une combinaison de capteurs complémentaires (radars, lidar caméras, etc.). Ce système et son environnement seront dans un premier temps modélisés en laboratoire pour tester les critères de choix technologiques des capteurs et assurer une première validation virtuelle à travers une approche itérative. Puis viendront des essais sur site en grandeur réelle, envisagées sur une locomotive de SNCF, entre Villeneuve Saint-Georges et Montereau.

Marchés visés

Le projet TAS se positionne sur le domaine du transport guidé terrestre.

Pour en savoir plus

Lancé
Transport Autonome
Partenaires industriels
Alstom SNCF SYSTRA
Partenaires académiques
Université Technologique de Compiègne (UTC)
Chef de projet
Raphaël CHOSIDOW
raphael.chosidow@www.irt-systemx.fr