SVA

Simulation of Autonomous Vehicle Safety

The SVA Project, within the framework of the Autonomous Vehicle Plan of the New Industrial France, aims to meet the challenge posed by the complexity of the safety demonstration of the autonomous vehicle through the use of digital simulation. This complexity is related to both the high number of different situations that drivers encounter on the road, and their uncertainties, and the embedded technologies themselves. It indeed makes validation by real use testing extremely expensive if not impossible for some cases.

Objectives

  • Provide builders and suppliers with a methodology, a platform and simulation tools for both the design and the validation of safe autonomous vehicles.
  • Specify, adapt or develop models of vehicle components and of its environment in order to simulate the behavior of the vehicle in the of occurrence of a failure of one of its components and/or to simulate the operational impact of an external disturbances (lack of clear surface road markings, rain, glare, etc.).

Challenges

To interpret its environment, the autonomous vehicle will have sensors (radars, cameras, etc.), map information, data streaming from the infrastructure or other vehicles. Like any other system that can create the potential for risk prone events, it must be designed to ensure the safety of its occupants and that of other road users. For this, some components will need to be redundant. Furthermore, the vehicle could experience a degradation of the efficiency of its sensors, for example due to rain, a glare or smears. It could also have difficulties in interpreting the information supplied by the sensors, for example if the road surface markings have been erased. Making the autonomous vehicle safe in light of these external interferences without malfunction is a real challenge.

The project will address in particular:

  • The identification of the limits of current methodologies, including ISO 26262, as well as proposals for the development of the highlighted methods.The provision of methods and modeling tools that will be used in particular to construct a simulation platform of an autonomous vehicle in its environment.
  • The construction of test scenarios describing driving situations, that integrate external disturbances, in a format usable by the simulation platform.

Doctoral thesis supported by the project

  • Application des méthodes formelles à la maîtrise du développement des systèmes embarqués sur le véhicule autonome (ENS Cachan – Université Paris-Salay / Laboratoire Spécification et Vérification)
  • Formal models for the conceptualization and the characterization of use cases for the autonomous vehicule (Université de Versailles Saint-Quentine-en-Yvelines / Laboratoire DAVID / STIC)

Market

The project results will be methods and software tools directly exploitable by our industrial partners in the automotive sector, with extensions planned for public transport and industrial vehicles.

Launched
Autonomous Transport
Industrial Partners
All4Tec Apsys Assystem Continental Optis Oktal PSA Peugeot Citroën Renault Sector Valeo
Academic Partners
CEA LNE Inria UVSQ
Project Manager
Jean van Frank
jean.vanfrank[at]irt-systemx.fr

SVA

Simulation pour la sécurité du véhicule autonome

Le projet SVA, dans le cadre du plan Véhicule Autonome de la Nouvelle France Industrielle, a pour objectif de répondre par la simulation numérique au défi posé par la complexité de la démonstration de la sécurité du véhicule autonome. En effet, cette complexité, liée à la fois au grand nombre de situations que le conducteur rencontre sur la route, leur incertitude,  et aux technologies embarquées, rend les validations par des tests en usages réels extrêmement couteux, voire impossibles pour certains.

Objectifs

  • Fournir aux constructeurs et aux équipementiers une méthodologie, une plateforme et des outils de simulation pour permettre de concevoir des véhicules autonomes sûrs et de les valider.
  • Spécifier, adapter ou développer les modèles des éléments du véhicule et de son environnement afin de pouvoir simuler le comportement du véhicule en cas d’apparition d’une défaillance d’un de ses composants ainsi que l’incidence sur son fonctionnement de perturbations extérieurs (effacement de marquages au sol, pluie, éblouissement,…)

Défis

Pour interpréter son environnement, le véhicule autonome disposera de capteurs (radars, caméras,…), d’informations cartographiques, de données venant de l’infrastructure ou d’autres véhicules. Comme tout autre système pouvant engendrer des événements potentiellement à risque, il devra être conçu pour assurer la sécurité de ses occupants et des autres usagers de la route. Pour cela, certains composants devront être redondés. Par ailleurs, le véhicule pourra être confronté à une dégradation de l’efficacité de ses capteurs, par exemple du fait de la pluie, d’un éblouissement ou de salissures mais aussi à des difficultés d’interprétation des informations fournies par les capteurs, par exemple si les marquages au sol sont effacés. Le fait de devoir sécuriser le véhicule face à ces perturbations extérieures, sans défaillance technique, est un véritable défi.

Le projet s’intéressera notamment à :

  • la mise en évidence des limites des méthodologies actuelles et notamment de la norme ISO 26262, ainsi que des propositions d’évolutions de ces méthodes,
  • la fourniture de méthodes et d’outils de modélisation qui se matérialiseront notamment par la réalisation d’une plateforme de simulation du véhicule dans son environnement.
  • la construction des scénarios de tests décrivant des situations de conduite, intégrant les perturbations extérieures, dans un formalisme exploitable par la plateforme de simulation.

Thèses encadrées dans le cadre du projet

  • Application des méthodes formelles à la maîtrise du développement des systèmes embarqués sur le véhicule autonome (ENS Cachan – Université Paris-Salay / Laboratoire Spécification et Vérification)
  • Modèles formels pour la conceptualisation et la caractérisation des cas d’usage pour le véhicule autonome (Université de Versailles Saint-Quentine-en-Yvelines / Laboratoire DAVID / STIC)

Marché

Les résultats du projet seront des méthodes et outils logiciels directement exploitables pas les partenaires industriels du secteur automobile, avec des extensions envisagées sur le transport public et les véhicules industriels

Téléchargement

 

 

 

 

Lancé
Transport Autonome
Partenaires industriels
All4Tec ANSYS Apsys Assystem Continental Oktal PSA Peugeot Citroën Renault Sector Valeo
Partenaires académiques
CEA LNE Inria UVSQ
Chef de projet
Jean van Frank
jean.vanfrank[at]irt-systemx.fr