STC

Telecommunications and Cloud Services

Challenges

5G is the greatest challenge for mobility services in the years to come and the technological battle is beginning now with the first deployments. While communication speed is one of the major issues for 5G with a goal of at least 1 Gbit/s and a peak around 10 Gbit/s, the exponential growth in communication requirements between connected things, latency time and intelligent distribution of content (mostly video) are others.
It is predicted that by 2025, there will be 150 billion communicating objects exchanging data, thus generating traffic that is doubling every 12 hours(1).
Our STC project is based on convergence between Software Defined Networking proposed in the form of virtualized functions deployed in a Cloud Computing environment. Additionally, its main goal is to set up algorithms to orchestrate and manage the Cloud-RAN functions which will also be deployed on a dedicated platform.

Objectives

STC, Telecommunications and Cloud Services, is one of the precursor projects in 5G technology to:

  • Meet the needs for agility and high performances in telecommunications networks.
  • Render classic telecommunications networks more agile and efficient, by means of three new paradigms: Cloud Computing, SDN (Software Defined Networking), and NFV (Network Functions Virtualization).

Target markets

5G is one of the main issues addressed by the “Telecom Sovereignty” plan in the NFI (Nouvelle France Industrielle) programme set up by the government. All the actions set up under this plan contribute to developing the digital industry in France, so that better consortia can be created.
Accordingly, with STC, SystemX is contributing to setting up the platform under the Telecom Sovereignty plan, the purpose of which is to provide a testbed for industry, comprising all the bricks of a network, and virtualised networking services.

Doctoral thesis supported by the project

  • Data monitoring, analysis and prediction for Cloud-RAN
  • Algorithms for Cloud RAN network dimensioning and resource allocation

Further information

Source : Dirk Helbing & Evangelos Pournaras (2015) Share/bookmark Society: Build digital democracy [archive], Nature, 2015-11-02)
Launched
Internet of Trust
Industrial Partners
Orange Nokia
Project Manager
Ruby Krishnaswamy
ruby.krishnaswamy[at]irt-systemx.fr

STC

Services de Télécommunications et Cloud

Défis

La 5G représente le défi majeur au service de la mobilité dans les prochaines années, et la bataille technologique se joue dès à présent pour réaliser les premiers déploiements. Si le débit de communication représente un des enjeux majeurs de la 5G avec un objectif d’au moins 1 Gbit/s et d’un pic autour de 10 Gbit/s, la croissance exponentielle des besoins de communication entre des objets connectés, le temps de latence et la distribution intelligente de contenu (essentiellement de la vidéo) en constituent d’autres.
D’ici 2025, on prévoit 150 milliards d’objets communicants et qui échangent des données, générant ainsi des trafics qui doublent toutes les 12 heures(1).
Le projet STC s’appuie sur la convergence des réseaux de télécommunications programmables proposés sous formes de fonctions virtualisées déployées dans un environnement de Cloud Computing. En outre, STC a pour objectifs principal de mettre en place des algorithmes  d’orchestration et de management des fonctions Cloud-RAN et qui seront également déployés sur une plateforme dédiée.

Objectifs

STC, Services de Télécommunications et Cloud, est l’un des projets précurseurs des technologies 5G pour :

  • Faire évoluer les réseaux de télécommunication, pour répondre en particulier aux besoins accrus d’agilité et de performance.
  • Rendre les réseaux d’accès radio plus agiles et plus performants, via l’exploitation des trois paradigmes essentiels : le Cloud Computing, le SDN (Software Defined Networking) ou la programmation des contrôleurs réseau, et le NFV (Network Functions Virtualization) ou la virtualisation des fonctions réseau.
  • Elaborer des nouveaux concepts de surveillance de l’accès radio pour les futurs réseaux mobiles, et développer des nouveaux outils logiciels de surveillance.

Marchés visés

La 5G fait partie des principaux enjeux adressés par le plan Souveraineté Télécoms du programme de la Nouvelle France Industrielle (NFI), lancé par le gouvernement. Toutes les actions mises en place dans ce cadre visent à développer la filière numérique en France, de façon à créer les meilleurs consortiums.
Dans ce contexte, SystemX contribue, par le biais du projet STC, à la mise en place de la plateforme du plan Souveraineté Télécoms qui vise à proposer aux industriels un socle d’expérimentation (Testbed) comprenant toute les briques d’un réseau, et de services réseaux virtualisés.

Thèses encadrées dans le cadre du projet

  • Data monitoring, analysis and prediction for Cloud-RAN
  • Algorithms for Cloud RAN network dimensioning and resource allocation.

A lire aussi

Source : Dirk Helbing & Evangelos Pournaras (2015) Share/bookmark Society: Build digital democracy [archive], Nature, 2015-11-02)
Lancé
Défense et sécurité
Partenaires industriels
Orange Nokia
Chef de projet
Drissa Houatra
drissa.houatra[at]irt-systemx.fr