SCA

Secure Cooperative Autonomous systems

Challenges

Vehicles are becoming increasingly autonomous and cooperative with their environment (roads, signs, other road users). This process of opening up to the external environment on the one hand offers new possibilities and on the other hand introduces an element of complexity that makes the system vulnerable to new forms of attack.

To address the new security and privacy challenges associated with the deployment of autonomous vehicles, in July 2017 IRT SystemX launched the Secure Cooperative Autonomous systems (SCA) project. The project team will look into the question of making intelligent transport system (ITS) communications more secure, addressing five main topics:

  • Analysis of innovative autonomous vehicle use cases
  • Study of the system evolution capability and its crypto-agility
  • Security assessment and penetration tests
  • Improving communication systems interoperability
  • Scaling up and dynamic dimensioning of the C-ITS PKI.

This new project follows on from the ISE project (ITS SEcurity) project, completed in June 2017, which led to the development of the security infrastructure for cooperative ITSs.

Objectives

The aim of the SCA project is to support the development of autonomous vehicles. Its primary focus is ITS cybersecurity with a view to guaranteeing secure communications between vehicles and between the vehicle and the infrastructure, protecting against cyberattacks and protecting the privacy of individuals.

Within the next few years, the project aims to build a Living Lab bringing together research, studies and analysis on the subject of ITS communications security to enable its current and future partners to carry out the necessary testing on their systems.

Target markets

The results of the SCA project could be used by various sectors of industry working on the development of autonomous vehicles and making their communication systems secure.

Thesis supervised within the framework of the project

Find out more

Launched
Mobility and autonomous transport
Defense and security
Industrial Partners
Groupe PSA IDnomic Oppida Renault Transdev Trialog Valeo YoGoKo
Academic Partners
Institut Mines-Télécom
Project Manager
Arnaud Kaiser
arnaud.kaiser[at]irt-systemx.fr

SCA

Secure Cooperative Autonomous systems

Défis

Les véhicules sont de plus en plus communicants et coopératifs avec leur environnement (routes, panneaux, autres usagers) et autonomes. Cette ouverture vers l’extérieur permet le développement de nouvelles applications mais introduit dans le même temps une complexité qui expose le système à de nouveaux types d’attaques.

Pour répondre aux nouveaux défis de sécurité et de protection de la vie privée liés au déploiement de ces véhicules, l’IRT SystemX a lancé en juillet 2017 le projet « Secure Cooperative Autonomous systems » (SCA). L’équipe du projet s’intéressera à la question de la sécurisation de communications des ITS, avec l’étude de cinq grands volets :

  • L’analyse de cas d’usage innovants liés au véhicule autonome.
  • L’étude de l’évolution des systèmes de crypto-agilité.
  • L’évaluation de sécurité et les tests de pénétration.
  • L’amélioration de l’interopérabilité des systèmes de communication.
  • Le passage à l’échelle et dimensionnement dynamique de la PKI C-ITS.

Ce nouveau projet s’inscrit dans le prolongement du projet ISE (ITS SEcurité), achevé en juin 2017, et qui a permis de développer l’infrastructure de sécurité pour les ITS coopératifs.

Objectifs

Le projet SCA a pour objectif d’accompagner le développement du véhicule autonome. Il s’intéresse en particulier à la cybersécurité des ITS afin de garantir la sécurité des communications entre véhicules et entre le véhicule et l’infrastructure, se prémunir contre les cyberattaques et protéger la vie privée des citoyens.

Dans les prochaines années, le projet ambitionne de bâtir un Living Lab qui regroupe les travaux, études et analyses menées en matière de sécurisation des communications des ITS pour permettre à ses partenaires et futurs partenaires d’y mener les tests nécessaires à l’évaluation de leurs systèmes.

Marchés visés

Les résultats du projet SCA pourront être exploités par les différents domaines industriels travaillant au développement du véhicule autonome et communicant et à sa sécurisation.

Thèse encadrée dans le cadre du projet

Pour en savoir plus

Lancé
Transport Autonome
Partenaires industriels
Groupe PSA IDnomic Oppida Renault Transdev Trialog Valeo YoGoKo
Partenaires académiques
Institut Mines-Télécom
Chef de projet
Pierpaolo Cincilla
pierpaolo.cincilla[at]irt-systemx.fr