IO4

Industrial IoT 4 Secure Manufacturing

Challenges

Launched in 2018, IO4 (Industrial IoT 4 Secure Manufacturing) is a four years project that contributes to the development of digital sovereignty with respect  to cybersecurity issues in the context of the next generation Factories  and the Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT). It addresses barriers to provide a secure end-to-end IIoT device deployment architecture that takes into account the specificities and constraints imposed by hardware. They are validated by physical and numerical tests, notably on the cybersecurity experimentation platform CHESS, developed in collaboration with ANSSI.

Objectives

The IO4 project serves two main purposes:

  • Develop a deployment architecture for IIoT devices that will guarantee the security of data collection, data transfer and storage, while taking into account the constraints imposed by the hardware (autonomy, memory, bandwidth, etc.).
  • Propose an integral security architecture covering each stage of the life cycle of the IIoT devices (enrollment, updating, maintenance in safety conditions, maintenance in operational condition, etc.).

Targeted Markets

The IO4 project addresses the scientific and technological barriers of cybersecurity applied to two different use cases:

  • Factory of the Future: secure predictive industrial maintenance. In this case of use, the project allows an energy supplier to anticipate hazards and ensure continuity of service through the secure collection of data in the field by IIoT.
  • Digital City: maintenance of safety of IIoTs in urban environment. In this case, it is about addressing the need to maintain the level of compliance with the security requirements over time. For this, it is imperative both to secure the process allowing remote access to IIoT devices for their update but also to reduce the cost of such an operation (autonomy, communication).

Find out more

Launched
Internet of Trust
Industrial Partners
Assystem Cyber Test System ENGIE IoTify Pertimm Sigfox
Academic Partners
CEA
Project Manager
Reda Yaich
reda.yaich[at]irt-systemx.fr

IO4

Industrial IoT 4 Secure Manufacturing

Défis

Lancé en juillet 2018 pour une durée de quatre ans, le projet IO4 (Industrial IoT 4 Secure Manufacturing) concoure au développement de la souveraineté numérique relative aux enjeux de cybersécurité pour l’Usine du Futur et l’Internet des Objets Industriels (IIoT). Ses travaux lèvent les verrous existants pour proposer une architecture de déploiement de dispositifs IIoT sécurisée de bout en bout, qui tienne compte des spécificités et contraintes imposées par le matériel. Ils sont validés par des tests physiques et numériques, notamment sur la plateforme d’expérimentation en cybersécurité CHESS, développée en collaboration avec l’ANSSI.

Objectifs

Le projet IO4 sert deux objectifs principaux :

  • Développer une architecture de déploiement de dispositifs IIoT qui garantira la sécurisation de la collecte, la remontée et le stockage des données, tout en tenant compte des contraintes imposées par le matériel (autonomie, mémoire, bande passante, etc.).
  • Proposer une architecture de sécurité intégrale couvrant chaque étape du cycle de vie des dispositifs IIoT (enrôlement, mise à jour, maintien en condition de sécurité, maintien en condition opérationnelle, etc.).

Marchés visés

Le projet IO4 traite les verrous scientifiques et technologiques de la cybersécurité appliquée à deux cas d’usage distincts :

  • Usine du Futur : maintenance industrielle prédictive sécurisée. Dans ce cas d’usage, le projet permet à un fournisseur d’énergie d’anticiper les aléas et d’assurer la continuité du service grâce à la collecte sécurisée des données sur le terrain par les IIoT.
  • Ville numérique : maintien en condition de sécurité des IIoT en environnement urbain. Il s’agit dans ce cas d’usage d’adresser le besoin de maintien dans le temps du niveau de conformité avec les exigences de sécurité. Pour cela, il est impératif à la fois de sécuriser le processus permettant d’accéder à distance aux dispositifs IIoT pour leur mise à jour mais également de réduire le coût d’une telle opération (autonomie, communication, etc.).

Aller plus loin

Lancé
Internet de confiance
Partenaires industriels
Assystem Cyber Test System ENGIE IoTify Pertimm Sigfox
Partenaires académiques
CEA
Chef de projet
Reda Yaich
reda.yaich[at]irt-systemx.fr