IMM

Multimedia Multilingual Integration

Challenges

The IMM project comes within a context of an increase in the data produced and disseminated in the world, with the volume doubling every year. The project has to fill a need for the development of tools to help a monitoring user extract knowledge from an unstructured data stream (mainly text and audio) that is useful at a given time for producing a report or making a decision.

Objectives

  • Monitoring application platform and prototype

The prime objective is the deployment of a testing, development and evaluation platform for components and applications dedicated to the analysis of multimedia and multilingual content provided by partners (information extraction, speech transcription, translation, information searching, and graph analysis).

  • Adaptation for a new language – particularly a little-used language

To be able to deploy and evaluate the complete chain of processing operations, the various components of the platform must be able to process data in different languages (obligatorily French, English and Arabic and, optionally, Russian, Chinese and Persian).

  • Ability to overcome noise and adaptation of the processing system to the style of the document

The goal is to study the process of constitution of resources from corpus to adapt a system to a particular style. This is a keystone element of the project that will ensure the robustness of the templates to noise and style variations. The system needs to be able to adapt the processing operations to the properties and salient characteristics of the analyzed documents.

  • Advanced information extraction

Improved quality of analysis of individual documents and extraction of basic semantic information, such as named entities, has to benefit higher level functions such as the extraction of facts from documents with diverse content, and navigation within information search results.

Targeted markets

The studies to be undertaken will notably address upscaling, support for multiple information items within the links and nodes of the network, support for its dynamic aspect, and the development of visualization tools suitable for large-scale networks. The domains of usage targeted are contingency management, cybersecurity and strategic monitoring.

Doctoral thesis supported by the project

  • Real-Time analysis of diffusion processes on large scale social networks (Université Pierre et Marie Curie (LIP6))
  • Towards coherent probabilistic knowledge bases (EDIPS / CNRS)

Downloads

Completed
Smart Territories
Industrial Partners
Bertin IT Capgemini EXALEAD Ministère de la Défense OVH.com Systran Temis Vecsys Vocapia Research
Academic Partners
CEA Inria LNE Université Pierre et Marie Curie (UPMC)
Project Manager
Olivier Mesnard
olivier.mesnard[at]irt-systemx.fr

IMM

Intégration Multimédia Multilingue

Défis

Le projet IMM s’inscrit dans le contexte de l’accroissement des données produites et diffusées dans le monde avec une volumétrie qui double tous les ans. Le projet doit répondre au besoin de développement d’outils pour assister le praticien de la veille à extraire du flux de données non structurées (principalement texte et audio), la connaissance qui lui est utile à un moment donné pour produire un rapport ou prendre une décision.

Objectifs

  • Plateforme et prototype d’application de veille

Le premier objectif consiste en la mise en place d’une plateforme de test, de développement et d’évaluation pour des composants et des applications dédiés à l’analyse de contenus multimédia et multilingues apportés par les partenaires (extraction d’information, transcription de la parole, traduction, recherche d’information, analyse de graphes).

  • Adaptation à une langue nouvelle et en particulier une langue peu dotée

Afin de pouvoir mettre en place et évaluer la chaîne complète des traitements, les différents composants de la plateforme devront savoir traiter des données dans différentes langues (obligatoirement le français, l’anglais, et l’arabe et de façon optionnelle le russe, le chinois, et le persan).

  • Résistance au bruit et adaptation de la chaîne de traitement au style du document

L’objectif est d’étudier le processus de constitution de ressources à partir de corpus pour adapter un système à un style spécifique. C’est un élément structurant du projet qui permettra d’assurer la robustesse des modèles au bruit et aux variations de style. Le système doit adapter les traitements selon les propriétés et les caractéristiques  saillantes des documents analysés.

  • Extraction d’information avancée

L’amélioration de la qualité de l’analyse des documents unitaires et de l’extraction d’information sémantiques de base comme les entités nommées doit servir des fonctions de plus haut niveau comme l’extraction de faits de documents hétérogènes, la navigation dans des résultats de recherche d’information.

Marchés visés

Les études à mener porteront notamment sur le passage à l’échelle, la prise en compte d’informations multiples sur les liens et les noeuds du réseau, la prise en compte de son aspect dynamique et le développement d’outils de visualisation adaptés à des réseaux de grande dimension. Les domaines d’exploitation visés sont la gestion de crise, la cybersécurité et la veille stratégique.

Thèses encadrées dans le cadre du projet

  • Real-Time analysis of diffusion processes on large scale social networks
  • Towards coherent probabilistic knowledge bases (EDIPS / CNRS)

Documents à télécharger

Terminé
Internet de confiance
Partenaires industriels
Bertin IT Capgemini EXALEAD Ministère de la Défense OVH.com Systran Temis Vecsys Vocapia Research
Partenaires académiques
CEA Inria LNE Université Pierre et Marie Curie (UPMC)
Chef de projet
Olivier Mesnard
olivier.mesnard[at]irt-systemx.fr