AMC

Agility and Design Margins

Objectives

Between 2000 and 2015, digital simulation technologies benefited from huge investments. Today, they must lead to even more speed, precise calculations and automated operation. Moreover, the system architect’s decisions must guarantee significantly sound system performances, despite uncertainties that may be due to many causes, such as a changing environment that is not always perfectly controlled, or lack of knowledge of the system, for instance. This is a major mathematical and algorithmic

To meet the challenge, SystemX and its partners have launched the AMC project in order to explore mathematical approaches, coupled with a systems engineering approach by using and adapting the agile method that has shown its worth in other fields such as software development.

Challenges

The AMC project, Agility and Design Margins, launched in February 2017 for a period of four years, has two major objectives:

  • Allow considering margins in simulation-based design processes: in order to make simulation helpful for decision making, it must quantify and integrate design margins. The AMC project will draw up a methodology for managing margins through uncertainty propagation analysis.
  • Demonstrate the contribution of collaborative and multi-disciplinary engineering approaches, according to the principle of the agile method, for complex model simulation projects. The purpose is to promote collaboration between several actors: the systems architect, the simulation architect and domains experts, by using a system engineering approach.

Markets targeted

The AMC project is based on two industrial usage cases:

  • The orbital stage of a space vehicle: the considered engineering scenario is based on prototyping an orbital stage that allow a second mission. New functions will be developed based on existing architecture, and will be integrated using a simulation-based decision approach.
  • The economical autonomous vehicle: the project plans to study the trade-off between respecting the automated driving decisions and energy savings. This will require the integration of architecture comparison methods and analyze the impact of adding new functions, in order to optimize the global performance of the vehicle.

Download

Launched
Agile Industry
Industrial Partners
Airbus DPS - Digital Product Simulation PSA Groupe Renault Sherpa Engineering Siemens
Project Manager
Mouadh Yagoubi
mouadh.yagoubi[at]irt-systemx.fr

AMC

Agilité et Marges de Conception

Défis

Les technologies de simulation numérique ont bénéficié d’investissements massifs dans les années 2000-2015. Aujourd’hui, elles doivent permettre encore davantage de rapidité, de précision dans les calculs et d’automatisme dans l’exécution. De plus, les décisions de l’architecte système doivent assurer un niveau de robustesse important des performances du système malgré les incertitudes pouvant être d’origines multiples : environnement changeant et non parfaitement maîtrisé, méconnaissances liées au système, par exemple. Cela représente un défi majeur d’ordre mathématique et algorithmique.

Pour répondre à ce défi, l’IRT SystemX et ses partenaires ont lancé le projet AMC afin d’explorer des approches mathématiques couplées à une démarche d’ingénierie système en mettant en œuvre et adaptant la méthode agile qui a fait ses preuves dans d’autres domaines comme le développement logiciel.

Objectifs

Le projet AMC, Agilité et Marges de Conception, lancé en février 2017 pour une durée de quatre ans, vise deux objectifs majeurs :

  • Rendre possible la prise en compte des marges dans les processus de conception basée sur la simulation : pour que la simulation reproduise au mieux la réalité et permette de prendre des décisions éclairées, elle doit quantifier et intégrer les marges de conception. Le projet AMC établira une méthodologie de gestion des marges à travers l’analyse de la propagation d’incertitudes.
  • Démontrer l’apport des modes d’ingénierie collaboratifs et multidisciplinaires, selon le principe de la méthode agile, pour les projets de simulation de modèles complexes. L’enjeu est de favoriser la collaboration entre les différents acteurs à savoir l’architecte système, l’architecte de simulation et les experts métier, dans une démarche orientée ingénierie des systèmes.

Marchés visés

Le projet AMC se base sur deux cas d’usage industriels :

  • L’étage orbital d’un véhicule spatial : le scénario d’ingénierie considéré porte sur le prototypage d’un étage orbital afin de prévoir sa réutilisation pour une seconde mission. De nouvelles fonctionnalités seront développées sur la base d’une architecture existante, et seront intégrées avec une démarche de décision basée sur la simulation.
  • Le véhicule autonome économe : le projet prévoit d’étudier le compromis entre le respect des décisions du pilotage automatique et la réduction de la consommation d’énergie. Il s’agira  d’intégrer une méthodologie de comparaison d’architectures distinctes et d’analyse d’impact de l’ajout de nouvelles fonctionnalités, dans le but d’optimiser la performance globale du véhicule.

A lire aussi

Lancé
Industrie du futur
Partenaires industriels
Airbus DPS - Digital Product Simulation Groupe PSA PHIMECA Engineering Renault Sherpa Engineering Siemens Valeo
Chef de projet
Mouadh Yagoubi
mouadh.yagoubi[at]irt-systemx.fr