Press

Additive Manufacturing: SystemX launches the WAS project

Launched as part of the IRT SystemX partnership with the Additive Factory Hub (ADH), the WAS (Wire Additive manufacturing process Simulation) project looks at the optimisation of control strategies for the manufacturing process by robotic metal-wire deposition.

The 42-month long WAS project aims to develop models and a digital environment (digital twin) to optimize the control of the additive manufacturing process by metal-wire deposition, which is popular for creating large parts or for adding features by reloading, with the creation of a demonstrator. The intended use cases will concern the oil and gas, aeronautics and energy production industries. Its implementation will be carried out on the WAAM manufacturing cell of the Additive Factory Hub (AFH) additive manufacturing research platform (AFH) with which the IRT SystemX has signed a partnership contract.

This project aims to remove the technological barriers related to the management of the trajectories and the optimization of the welding parameters (speed, current, voltage) to obtain the expected properties (projection, cordmaintenance, cord width, etc.). For this, three intermediate objectives are targeted:

  • The development of a digital twin of the complete system, which will allow a robust and realistic simulation of the torch orientation position with respect to the part and its kinematic behavioUr in all circumstances, in order to guarantee the effectiveness of the process.
  • The definition of innovative and optimal manufacturing strategies to meet the quality criteria required by the targeted applications
  • The modelling, simulation and optimization of all or part of the process to limit deformation of parts and reduction of mechanical properties.

Lancé dans le cadre du partenariat de l’IRT SystemX avec la plateforme de fabrication additive AFH (Additive Factory Hub), le projet WAS (Wire Additive manufacturing process Simulation) pour optimiser les stratégies de pilotage de la fabrication par dépôt de fil métallique robotisé.

D’une durée de 42 mois, le projet WAS vise à élaborer des modèles et un environnement numérique (jumeau numérique) pour optimiser le pilotage du procédé de fabrication additive par dépôt de fil métallique, plébiscité pour la création de pièces de grande taille ou pour ajouter des fonctionnalités par rechargement, avec la création d’un démonstrateur. Les cas d’usage adressés concerneront les industries de l’oil and gaz, de l’aéronautique et la production d’énergie. Sa mise en œuvre sera réalisée sur la cellule de fabrication WAAM de la plateforme de recherche dédiée à la fabrication additive « Additive Factory Hub » (AFH) avec laquelle l’IRT SystemX a signé un contrat de partenariat.

Ce projet ambitionne de lever les verrous technologiques liés à la gestion des trajectoires et à l’optimisation des paramètres de soudage (vitesse, courant, tension) pour obtenir les propriétés attendues (projection, maintien du cordon, largeur du cordon, etc.). Pour cela, trois objectifs intermédiaires sont visés :

  • L’élaboration d’un jumeau numérique du système complet, qui permettra de simuler de manière robuste et réaliste la position de l’orientation de la torche par rapport à la pièce et son comportement cinématique en toutes circonstances, pour garantir l’efficacité du procédé.
  • La définition de stratégies de fabrication innovantes et optimales pour atteindre les critères de qualité requis par les applications visées.
  • La modélisation, la simulation et l’optimisation de tout ou partie du procédé pour limiter les déformations des pièces et réduire les abattements de propriétés mécaniques.

- ABONNEMENT NEWSLETTER

Inscrivez-vous à la newsletter de l'IRT SystemX

et recevez chaque mois les dernières actualités de l'institut :