Research axes

The 2016-2020 roadmap of the Institute focuses on 3 research axis, that it is possible to find in each of its four strategic domains:

Usage and collaborations

Any complex system design process is based fundamentally on understanding the value that the system holds for stakeholders, which requires starting with a detailed analysis of the uses and needs of these stakeholders. At this stage, the creation of collaborative design methods is also an essential condition of “good” design to ensure that all points of view are incorporated into the system architecture.

Application domains and associated examples

  • Economic & operating models
  • Socio-technical & economic networks
  • People/systems interfaces
  • Collaborative engineering

 

Modelisation and optimisation

The second stage of a system design process is a systemic modellingstage, where the various operational, functional and dysfunctional views, of multi-scale heterogeneous systems need to be captured. A number of design choices then emerge, which it must be possible to compare them in order to create an “optimal” system. A verification stage is also required to validate that the modelled system fully complies with its specifications.

Application domains and associated examples

  • Formal models
  • Supervision & control
  • Discrete and continuous optimisation
  • Formal verification

 

Simulation and infrastructure

The final stage of a system design process is a system simulation and implementation. This consists in simulating the multi-physical and hybrid dimensions of the systems whilst combining different scales and incorporating actions taken by humans. The underlying digital infrastructures also play a key role, as their technical performances are intimately linked to the functional performances of the system simulations.

Application domains and associated examples

  • Applied mathematics
  • Scientific calculation
  • Digital infrastructures

Axes de recherche

La roadmap 2016-2020 de l’IRT SystemX se concentre sur 3 axes de recherche transverses, que l’on retrouve dans chacun de ses quatre domaines stratégiques :

Usages et collaboration

Tout processus de conception d’un système complexe repose fondamentalement sur la compréhension de la valeur du système pour ses parties prenantes, ce qui  nécessite de commencer par une analyse fine des usages et des besoins des parties prenantes du système. A ce stade, la mise en place de méthodes collaboratives de conception est également une condition sine qua non de « bonne » conception pour que tous les points de vue puissent être intégrés dans l’architecture du système.

Domaines d’application et exemples associés

  • Modèles économiques & opérationnels
  • Réseaux socio-techniques & économiques
  • Interfaces hommes systèmes
  • Ingénierie collaborative

Modélisation et Optimisation

La seconde étape du processus de conception d’un système est une étape de modélisation systémique où l’on doit capturer formellement les différentes vues opérationnelles, fonctionnelles, organiques et dysfonctionnelles de systèmes hétérogènes multi-échelles. Plusieurs choix de conception émergent alors et il faudra pouvoir les comparer pour aboutir au système « optimal ». Une étape de vérification permettra également de valider que le système modélisé répond bien à ses spécifications.

Domaines d’application et exemples associés

  • Modèles formels
  • Supervision & contrôle
  • Optimisation discrète & continue
  • Vérification formelle

Simulation et Infrastructures

La dernière étape du processus de conception d’un système est une étape de simulation et d’implémentation du système. Celle-ci consiste à simuler les dimensions multi-physiques et hybrides des systèmes tout en couplant différentes échelles et en intégrant des interventions humaines. Les infrastructures numériques sous-jacentes jouent également un rôle clef car leurs performances techniques sont intimement liées aux performances fonctionnelles des simulations de systèmes.

Domaines d’application et exemples associés

  • Mathématique appliquée
  • Calcul scientifique
  • Infrastructures numériques