SCE

Smart City Energy Analytics

Energy management is a major concern for cities, especially for environmental reasons. With the energy transition and its objective to gradually integrate into the total mix new renewable energy sources, energy production, transportation and distribution networks, known as “grids”, will increasingly evolve from a vertical and predictable architecture towards a horizontal mesh, “peer-to-peer,” and less and less predictable one. It is therefore essential for cities to adopt a more intelligent management to better manage their consumption but also production of energy.

In such a development, data management is becoming a major issue for electricity operators to take advantage of the exponential growth of data generated by the various stakeholders related to energy: data on individual consumption energy through devices increasingly connected; data mobility, electric vehicles; data on availability of production of renewable energy sources; etc.

With the new “Big Data” technologies, and their ability to extract relevant information from global and local behaviors or capabilities, it will be possible to obtain an interaction between buildings, neighborhoods, public transportation and electric vehicles considering constraints of the electrical network.

The actors of the city will become “smarter” because of their ability to measure and act more appropriately.

Objectives

The SCE project aims to develop an open data analysis platform involving technology providers, system integrators, energy and transport services, operators and university research entities. This platform will enable the testing of different energetic management strategies and possibly see the emergence of new business models.

The project is divided into four major areas:

  • Collection/analysis/ Quality enhancement of heterogeneous data (sensors, social networks, etc.).
  • Modelling the energy behavior of the systems involved
  • Decision support through innovative, reliable and relevant reporting/visualization tools
  • Development of business models

Challenges

  • Identify and select architectures and technologies for collecting and analyzing data
  • Seek new strategies on data visualization for decision support.
  • Evaluate the potential of technological components developed on different use cases and integrate them.
  • Ensure secure interoperability with other city infrastructure (transportation, lighting, buildings)

Targeted Markets

Market opportunities of this project concern the energy sector and more specifically:

  • Electricity network operators (producers, distributors)
  • Government (city manager, etc.).
  • “prosumers”
  • transport operators

Downloads

Launched
Smart Territories
Industrial Partners
Alstom Artelys Engie G2 Mobility GE Grid solutions NovEner Reuniwatt The CoSMo Company Ecogélec Sherpa Engineering Solunergie
Academic Partners
CEA CentraleSupélec IFSTTAR
Project Manager
Amira Ben Hamida
amira.benhamida [at] irt-systemx.fr

SCE

Smart City Energy Analytics

La gestion de l’énergie est une préoccupation majeure pour les villes, notamment pour des raisons environnementales. Avec la transition énergétique et son objectif d’intégrer progressivement dans le mix total de nouvelles sources d’énergie renouvelable, la production d’énergie, le transport et les réseaux de distribution, connus sous le nom « grids », vont  évoluer d’une architecture verticale en régime prévisible à une architecture de plus en plus horizontale en mailles, « peer- to peer », et de moins en moins prévisible. Il est donc primordial pour les villes d’adopter une gestion plus intelligente afin de gérer au mieux sa consommation mais également sa production d’énergie.

Dans une telle évolution, la gestion des données devient un enjeu majeur pour les opérateurs d’électricité, afin de tirer parti de la croissance exponentielle des données produites par les différentes parties prenantes liées à l’énergie : les données sur la consommation individuelle d’énergie; sur la mobilité des personnes ; des véhicules électriques ; de disponibilité et de production des sources d’énergie renouvelables ; etc.

Grâce aux nouvelles technologies « Big Data », et leur capacité à extraire du sens des comportements ou des capacités globales et locales, il deviendra possible d’obtenir une interaction entre les bâtiments, les quartiers, les transports publics et les véhicules électriques en tenant compte des contraintes du réseau électrique.
Les acteurs de la ville seront devenus plus « intelligents » en raison de leur capacité à mesurer et agir de manière plus pertinente.

Objectifs

Le projet SCE cherche à développer une plateforme ouverte d’analyse de données associant les fournisseurs de technologies, les intégrateurs de systèmes, les services énergétiques et de transport, les opérateurs et les entités de recherche universitaires. Cette plateforme permettra ainsi de tester différentes stratégies de gestion énergique et éventuellement de voir apparaître de nouveaux business modèles.
Le projet se décline en quatre axes majeurs :

  • Collecte/Analyse/Amélioration de la qualité de données hétérogènes (capteurs, réseaux sociaux, etc.)
  • Modélisation du comportement énergétique des systèmes mis en jeu
  • Aide à la décision au travers d’outils de restitution/visualisation innovants, fiables et pertinents
  • Développement de business modèles

Défis

  • Définir et choisir les architectures et les technologies de collecte et d’analyse de données
  • Rechercher de nouvelles stratégies en matière de visualisation de données pour l’aide à la décision.
  • Évaluer le potentiel de briques technologiques développées sur différents cas d’utilisation et les intégrer.
  • Assurer l’interopérabilité sécurisée avec d’autres infrastructures de la ville (transports, éclairage, bâtiments)

Marchés visés

Les débouchés de ce projet concernent le secteur de l’énergie et plus spécialement :

  • les opérateurs du réseau électrique (producteurs, distributeurs)
  • les pouvoirs publics (gestionnaire de ville, etc.)
  • les « prosommateurs »
  • les opérateurs de transport

 

Téléchargements

Lancé
Territoires Intelligents
Partenaires industriels
Alstom Artelys Engie Cosmo Tech G2 Mobility GE Grid solutions NovEner Reuniwatt Ecogélec Sherpa Engineering Solunergie
Partenaires académiques
CEA CentraleSupélec IFSTTAR
Chef de projet
Amira Ben Hamida
amira.benhamida [at] irt-systemx.fr