Testimonies

SystemX began its second year of operations. After developing an initial assessment, the IRT has gone to meet its partners to get a feel of their experiences in their collaboration with SystemX.

Discover their testimonies!

Pascal Poisson

Pascal Poisson, Alstom

“Being a partner of the IRT SystemX is a real opportunity for Alstom Transport. Through this industry-applied research cooperation, we can improve the efficiency of our R&D program. Furthermore, we will benefit from a momentum for progress and from a close collaboration with centers of expertise to carry out our projects. This approach illustrates Alstom’s commitment to remain at the forefront of technology and to offer its clients increasingly innovative solutions. This investment in the IRT is further reinforced by the presence of Pascal Cléré, Director of the Signaling Division at Alstom Transport, at the presidency of the IRT SystemX. “

eric-monchalin

Eric Monchalin, Bull

“Bull invests heavily in R&D to continue its development as leader in high-performance computing solutions. Convinced of the benefits of cooperative research, we are heavily involved in SystemX as a founding member, very active in both the High Performance Computing sub-program and in the Board of directors. This innovative approach allows us to prepare, together with the best French experts in the field, the technological breakthroughs needed for exascale systems (10 to the power 18 operations per second) that we are developing and which will become available around 2018/2020. Our commitment in SystemX is ultimately the ideal complement to our significant presence in SYSTEMATIC Paris-Region and Teratec, which is more focused on creating an ecosystem around high performance computing and the development of synergies between complementary actors. “

alain-bravo

Alain Bravo, CentraleSupélec

“From the point of view of Supélec, the IRT SystemX is a new interdisciplinary institute ideally positioned at the heart of its themes: Information, Energy and Systems. Moreover, Supélec and more generally CentraleSupélec have a strong interest in the new form of Industry/Research collaboration that SystemX is developing: in line with our culture of partnership with industry and services, this collaboration restructures the landscape in which fit the various missions of higher-education and research institutions in the field of digital engineering. SystemX is a place where exchanges will nurture and accelerate our thoughts and our actions when it comes to the technical and technological advances that enhance the ecosystem that is made-up of the SYSTEMATIC Paris Region competitiveness cluster; and at the same will make our training programs evolve. Supélec is proud to participate in the creation of the IRT SystemX and its ambition to become an international competence center, and finds here an excellent opportunity to share its vision of the future of digital systems engineering. “

laurent-anne

Eric Monchalin, Bull

“Bull invests heavily in R&D to continue its development as leader in high-performance computing solutions. Convinced of the benefits of cooperative research, we are heavily involved in SystemX as a founding member, very active in both the High Performance Computing sub-program and in the Board of directors. This innovative approach allows us to prepare, together with the best French experts in the field, the technological breakthroughs needed for exascale systems (10 to the power 18 operations per second) that we are developing and which will become available around 2018/2020. Our commitment in SystemX is ultimately the ideal complement to our significant presence in SYSTEMATIC Paris-Region and Teratec, which is more focused on creating an ecosystem around high performance computing and the development of synergies between complementary actors. “

fouad-el-khaldi

Fouad El Khaldi, ESI Group

“As an active member of SYSTEMATIC Paris-Region, it is natural for ESI to join the IRT SystemX to transform research results and gained knowledge into innovation. This is a critical lever for competitiveness and growth in the Virtual Prototyping market based on numerical simulation methodologies. ESI’s vision is based on the co-creation of value with our customers and partners for future solutions. It is a collaborative innovation process, which depends on a dynamic ecosystem that will foster the transition from the “Proof of Concept” stage to the “Proof of Value” one. The IRT allows us to interact with the key players of co-creation: research laboratories for technology and industrials that represent the value chain (order givers as well as SMEs). The public-private co-financing system is an effective asset that allows to overcome obstacles related to the problem of initial investment and enhances risk control. This will help us to accelerate innovation and strengthen our leadership position in virtual engineering.

eric-bantegnie

Eric Bantegnie, Esterel Technologies

“Esterel Technologies got involved with the IRT SystemX at the very beginning of the project. As a founding member of SYSTEMATIC Paris-Region and software editor specializing in the development of embedded systems and software, we developed numerous collaborations within cooperative research projects such as Usine Logicielle, EDONA or AGeSys, and a common laboratory with CEA LIST – the LISTEREL laboratory. It seemed natural to us to continue these efforts, around the themes of dependability, secure software development for the automotive industry, the “Model Based System Engineering” and the simulation system, in partnership with the biggest French players in the field. We believe that the quality of management of the Institute and of its partners will make it a place of unique innovation and benefit the entire industrial ecosystem of embedded systems. This is the meaning of our engagement. “

antoine-petit

Antoine Petit, Inria

« Inria is convinced that digital technology needs to be a top priority for our country’s research and innovation policy. Indeed, it is an essential factor of development and value creation, and that in all the economic and industrial sectors. A key to success is to promote cooperative projects between research institutes, schools and universities on the one hand, large groups and SMEs / intermediate size enterprises on the other. The IRT must play a leading role in the emergence and growth of such projects. Inria is a founding partner of the IRT SystemX and will fully invest itself in it as illustrated by the fact that we are a member of the Board of Directors and hold the function of treasurer. “

Gerard Memmi

Gérard Memmi, Institut Mines-Télécom

“The Mines-Télécom Institute and its schools have constantly and strongly supported the IRT SystemX project and actively participated in its conception from the very beginning. The reasons why the Mines-Télécom Institute is today a founding member of the IRT SystemX are multiple. Indeed, the IRT will notably enable the long-term development of ambitious, cooperative in nature, research based on sustainable and robust platforms. The IRT will promote the formation of Ile-de-France engineering and technology transfers to the French industry in order to control and innovate in a world that is experiencing an unprecedented acceleration to digital everything. It will be a common place for research for our researchers and SystemX’s partners. We will bring our expertise to the table and will be able to address, at a relevant scale, the technological barriers related to the digital nature of large systems such as multimodal transport, embedded systems, and of course, the future telecommunication networks.

joel-monnier

Joel Monnier, Kalray

“As an innovative SME, Kalray naturally finds its place within the IRT SystemX. Kalray’s MPPA MANYCORE processors and the software development environments that accompany them bring new perspectives to the world of embedded systems by combining low consumption and high computing power. The uniqueness of the Kalray technology partly results from the strong cooperation with the CEA and INRIA and we see in the IRT SystemX the opportunity to capitalize on the knowledge acquired either through research or with other companies.”

alban-schmutz

Alban Schmutz, OVH Global Solutions

“Already No. 1 in Europe and No. 3 worldwide for service hosting, OVH.COM wants to strengthen its position by accelerating its innovation policy. The unique ecosystem in France that is SystemX, with its 250 researchers dedicated to complex systems, is a unique opportunity for us. OVH.COM, through its Oxalya entity, will thus strengthen its activities in the provisioning of numerical simulation applications in the Cloud (SaaS) in the context of the creation of a joint laboratory with ESI Group, the Ecole Centrale de Pairs and UVSQ. This first step can progressively be extended to other SystemX partners, and expanded to other activities of the group.”

patrick-bastard

Patrick Bastard, Renault

“As a founding member, Renault is committed in its engagement towards the IRT SystemX, particularly in three areas: “Multimodal Transport”, “Design Tools and Simulation” and “Embedded Systems”. The stakes meet SystemX’s ambitions: which are to develop, through a pooling – in one same place – of complementary industrial and academic skills and competences, new knowledge and jointly develop new engineering methods and tools, as well as high value product-process innovations. These issues are essential to Renault, the engineering of complex systems being at the heart of tomorrow’s automotive challenges and, more generally, new mobility.”

claude-gomez

Claude Gomez, Scilab

“Scilab Enterprises operates two complementary axes within the IRT SystemX. On the one hand, we provide the necessary support and technical assistance to the IRT users of the open source Scilab numerical computing software. On the other, we also work on the Xcos simulation module. Thanks to this transversal approach, we are able to work with all of the IRT’s researchers and partners in order to address a major issue: strengthen Scilab as the reference numerical computing calculation software.”

Michel Morvan

Michel Morvan, President and Co-Founder of The Cosmo Company

Working with the IRT SystemX allows us to make our modeling and simulation platform of complex systems CoSMo known to large groups. Indeed, the IRT SystemX enables us to work with them in the context of collaborative projects and to highlight the added value we bring to solve strategic problems at the heart of their activities. Finally, this collaboration gives us the opportunity to better understand their specific issues and thus to evolve our products and our offer so as to make them correspond perfectly to the needs of businesses.

Nicolas Dulac, Intempora

Working on these subjects in the context of SystemX allows us to move forward and to create close links with, on the one hand, research laboratories that are specialists in said subjects (IEF and CEA), and on the other hand with the large groups that will be future users of the tools we are developing conjointly (RENAULT, PSA, Valeo, etc.) – the latter then being able to express their needs and thus guide the development appropriately. This project is an example of the implementation of synergies between research laboratories, “technological providers” SMEs and major accounts.

Didier Roux, President Director General of Krono-Safe

Through the work done within the IRT SystemX, Krono-Safe has found the opportunity to scale up its work by collaborating with distinguished partners on software platforms for critical embedded systems of the future. Krono-Safe is thus able to validate its technical guidelines to ensure a product development in line with market expectations, particularly in the railway sector, notably Alstom. The physical proximity of industrials and academics in one place allows the IRT to play a catalytic role in the process of the emergence of new technological solutions. Both human and material resources are pooled together for greater efficiency in order to achieve faster industrialization of the resulting innovations.

Marc Pollina, President of M3 Systems

For M3 Systems, collaboration with the IRT SystemX enables us to participate in the LRA collaborative project that involves complementary partners and end-users of navigation technologies. This project is also an opportunity for M3 Systems to enter a new field, the railway sector, and position itself to meet future industrial needs. More generally, participation in the IRT brings to M3 Systems a context that is favorable to the emergence of innovative products.

Olivier Vine, President of Open Wide Ingenierie

Our involvement with the IRT SystemX, which creates a direct contact with our customers on the one hand and technological innovations on the other hand, is a real asset as it encourages the anticipation of needs and enhances our ability to respond appropriately to requests from industrials.

Antoine Rauzy, Professor and Director of the Chaire Henri Blériot, Centrale-Supélec

Extract from round table “SystemX, value creation” – 2014 Future@SystemX

“I truly believe that the IRT, to return to the subject, can be a place that stimulates researchers and young researchers, in particular to focus on real life, concrete issues; and realize that there are a lot of exciting scientific conceptual problems that come from real life, concrete life, and for that you need a place and the IRT can be that place.”

Eric Duceau, Scientific Director, Airbus Group Innovations

Extract from round table “SystemX, value creation” – 2014 Future@SystemX

“At the IRT we invented something new that did not exist: the co-localization. We invented, or renewed with it. So what I find particularly effective at SystemX is the fact that there is flexibility and responsiveness. There is a lot, a lot of pragmatism. To give you an idea, when a project is started it always starts with many people/partners involved, a proposal is made. In the time it takes to secure funding, several years go by and we discover that there are things that have changed. This is where it gets really amazing. That is to say that people came together, agreed to re-discuss a number of topics, adapt and enrich them – and it was done quite naturally. So why was it done so quickly? Because the co-location meant that people saw each other every week, one or two days a week. It does not seem much but it is more than enough. I think that from what I have experienced in other projects, such as large European ones, in six months we have won more than 6 months of maturity.”

Témoignages

SystemX a entamé sa deuxième année d’activité. Après avoir dressé un premier bilan, l’IRT est parti à la rencontre de ses partenaires pour connaître leur sentiment sur le début de leur collaboration avec SystemX. Découvrez leurs témoignages !

Pascal Poisson

Pascal Poisson, Alstom

« Etre partenaire de l’IRT SystemX est une réelle opportunité pour Alstom Transport. Grâce à cette coopération Industrie-Recherche appliquée, nous pourrons améliorer l’efficacité de notre programme R&D. De plus, nous allons bénéficier d’une dynamique de progrès et d’une collaboration étroite avec des pôles d’expertises pour mener à bien nos projets. Cette démarche illustre l’engagement d’Alstom Transport à rester à la pointe de la technologie et d’offrir à nos clients des solutions toujours plus innovantes. Cet investissement au sein de l’IRT est d’ailleurs renforcé par la présence de Pascal Cléré, Directeur de la division Signalisation d’Alstom Transport, à la présidence de l’IRT SystemX. »

eric-monchalin

Eric Monchalin, Bull

« Bull investit largement en R&D pour continuer son développement de leader des solutions de calcul haute performance. Convaincu des bienfaits de la recherche coopérative, nous nous impliquons fortement dans SystemX en tant que membre fondateur, très actif à la fois au niveau du sous-programme High Performance Computing et du Conseil d’Administration. Cette approche novatrice nous permet de préparer, conjointement avec les meilleurs experts français du domaine, les ruptures technologiques nécessaires aux systèmes Exaflopiques (10 puissance 18 opérations par seconde) que nous développerons d’ici 2018 à 2020. Notre engagement dans SystemX est en définitive le complément idéal à notre présence significative au sein de SYSTEMATIC Paris-Région et Teratec plus focalisés sur la création de tout un écosystème autour du calcul haute performance et le développement de synergies entre acteurs complémentaires. »

alain-bravo

Alain Bravo, CentraleSupélec

« Du point de vue de Supélec, l’IRT SystemX est un nouvel institut interdisciplinaire idéalement positionné au cœur de ses thématiques : Information, Energie et Systèmes. De plus, Supélec et plus largement CentraleSupélec portent un grand intérêt à la nouvelle forme de collaboration Industrie – Recherche que va développer System X : dans le prolongement de notre culture de partenariat avec l’industrie et les services, cette collaboration restructure le paysage dans lequel s’insèrent les différentes missions des établissements d’enseignement supérieur et de recherche dans le domaine de l’ingénierie numérique. System X est un lieu où les échanges pourront nourrir et faire accélérer nos réflexions et nos actions quant aux avancées techniques et technologiques qui renforcent l’écosystème constitué par le pôle de compétitivité SYSTEMATIC Paris Région, et par la même feront évoluer nos programmes de formation. Supélec est fier de participer à la création de l’IRT SystemX et à son ambition de devenir un centre de compétence international, et y trouve une formidable opportunité de partager sa vision du futur de l’ingénierie numérique des systèmes. »

laurent-anne

Laurent Anné, Distene

« DISTENE, société française d’édition de composants logiciels basée sur Teratec, est un fournisseur de référence sur le marché des éditeurs de logiciels de CAO et de calcul : 75% de son activité est réalisée à l’international et tous les grands éditeurs de ce marché sont clients. Sa capacité d’innovation, base de son succès, est alimentée en amont par des collaborations Recherche forte, notamment avec l’INRIA via un laboratoire commun (I-Lab). En participant à l’IRT-SystemX, DISTENE souhaite consolider sa connexion directe avec les industriels établie au sein des projets du pôle SYSTEMATIC Paris-Région, pour l’aider à mieux appréhender leur besoin, et par transitivité, anticiper et mieux répondre aux besoins de ses clients éditeurs, fournisseurs de ces industriels, et ainsi accélérer sa croissance. »

fouad-el-khaldi

Fouad El Khaldi, ESI Group

« Etant que membre actif de SYSTEMATIC Paris-Région, il est naturel pour ESI de rejoindre l’IRT SYSTEMX afin de transformer les résultats des recherches et les connaissances accumulées en innovation. C’est un levier critique de compétitivité et de croissance sur le marché du Prototypage Virtuel basé sur les méthodologies de simulation numérique. La vision d’ESI est basée sur la Co-création de valeur avec nos clients et partenaires pour les solutions du futur. C’est un processus collaboratif d’innovation, dépendant d’un écosystème dynamique qui favorisera le passage de l’étape de « Proof of Concept » à l’étape de « Proof of Value ». L’IRT nous permet d’interagir avec les acteurs principaux de la Co-création: les laboratoires de recherche pour la technologie, les industriels qui représentent la chaîne de valeur (les donneurs d’ordre tout autant que les ETI-PME). Le dispositif Public-Privé de Cofinancement est un atout efficace permettant de s’affranchir des barrières liées au problème de l’investissement initial et d’améliorer le contrôle des risques. Ceci nous aidera à accélérer l’innovation et à consolider notre positionnement de leadership en ingénierie virtuelle. »

eric-bantegnie

Eric Bantegnie, Esterel Technologies

« Esterel Technologies s’est engagé au sein de l’IRT SystemX depuis le début du projet. En tant que membre fondateur de SYSTEMATIC Paris-Région et éditeur de logiciel spécialisé dans le développement des systèmes et logiciels embarqués, nous avions développé de nombreuses coopérations au sein de projets de recherche coopérative comme Usine Logicielle, EDONA ou AGeSys, ainsi qu’un laboratoire commun avec le CEA LIST, le laboratoire LISTEREL. Il nous a semblé naturel de poursuivre ces efforts, autour des thèmes de la sureté de fonctionnement, du développement de logiciels surs pour l’industrie automobile et du « Model Based System Engineering » et de la simulation système, en partenariat avec les plus grands acteurs français du domaine. Nous avons la conviction que la qualité du management de l’institut et de ses partenaires en fera un lieu d’innovation unique et bénéficiera à tout l’écosystème industriel des systèmes embarqués. Tel est le sens de notre engagement. »

antoine-petit

Antoine Petit, Inria

« Inria est convaincu que le numérique doit être une des toutes premières priorités de la politique de recherche et d’innovation de notre pays. Il est en effet un facteur essentiel de développement et de création de valeurs, et cela dans tous les secteurs économiques et industriels. Une des clés du succès est de promouvoir les projets coopératifs entre les instituts de recherche, les universités et écoles d’une part, les grands groupes, les PME/ETI d’une autre. L’IRT doit jouer un rôle moteur dans l’émergence et la croissance de tels projets. Inria est partenaire fondateur de l’IRT SystemX et s’y investira pleinement comme l’illustre le fait que nous sommes membre du Conseil d’Administration et assurons la fonction de trésorier. »

Gerard Memmi

Gérard Memmi, Institut Mines-Télécom

« L’Institut Mines-Télécom et ses écoles ont constamment et fortement soutenu le projet IRT SystemX et ont activement participé à sa conception dès ses premières heures. Les raisons pour lesquelles l’Institut Mines-Télécom est aujourd’hui membre fondateur de l’IRT SystemX sont multiples. En effet, l’IRT va permettre de développer sur le long terme une recherche de nature collaborative ambitieuse en particulier, en s’appuyant sur des plateformes pérennes et robustes. L’IRT favorisera la formation d’une ingénierie francilienne ainsi que le transfert technologique vers l’industrie française afin de maitriser et innover dans un monde qui vit une accélération sans précèdent vers un tout numérique. Il constituera un lieu de recherche commun pour nos chercheurs et les partenaires de SystemX. Nous apporterons notre savoir-faire et allons pouvoir adresser à une échelle pertinente les verrous technologiques liés au caractère numérique des grands systèmes tels que les transports multimodaux, les systèmes embarqués, ou bien sûr, les futurs réseaux de télécommunication. »

joel-monnier

Joel Monnier, Kalray

« En tant que PME innovante, Kalray trouve naturellement sa place au sein de l’IRT SystemX. Les processeurs MPPA MANYCORE de Kalray et les environnements de développement logiciels qui les accompagnent, apporte de nouvelles perspectives au monde des systèmes embarqués en conjuguant faible consommation et forte puissance de calcul. Le caractère unique de la technologie Kalray résulte en partie de coopérations fortes avec le CEA et l’INRIA et nous voyons dans l’IRT SystemX l’opportunité de capitaliser sur les connaissances acquises que ce soit avec la recherche ou avec d’autres entreprises. »

alban-schmutz

Alban Schmutz, OVH Global Solutions

« Déjà n°1 européen et n°3 mondial des services d’hébergement, OVH.COM souhaite renforcer sa position en accélérant sa politique d’innovation. L’écosystème unique en France que représente SystemX, avec ses 250 chercheurs dédiés aux Systèmes Complexes, est une chance unique pour nous.OVH.COM, au travers de son entité Oxalya, va ainsi renforcer ses activités dans la mise à disposition dans le Cloud (SAAS) d’applications de Simulation Numérique dans le cadre de la création d’un laboratoire conjoint avec ESI Group, l’Ecole Centrale de Paris et l’UVSQ. Cette première brique pourra s’étendre aux autres partenaires de SystemX au fur et à mesure, et s’élargir à d’autres activités du groupe. »

patrick-bastard

Patrick Bastard, Renault

« En tant que membre fondateur, Renault s’engage avec détermination dans l’IRT SystemX, en particulier dans 3 domaines : « Transport Multimodal », « Outils de conception et de simulation» et « Systèmes Embarqués ». Les enjeux sont à la hauteur des ambitions de SystemX : il s’agit, en s’appuyant sur la mise en commun – en un lieu unique – de compétences industrielles et académiques complémentaires, de développer des connaissances nouvelles et de concevoir ensemble des méthodes et outils d’ingénierie en rupture, ainsi que des innovations produit-process à forte valeur. Ces enjeux sont essentiels pour Renault, l’ingénierie des systèmes complexes étant au cœur des défis automobiles de demain et plus généralement des nouvelles mobilités. »

claude-gomez

Claude Gomez, Scilab

« Scilab Enterprises intervient selon deux axes complémentaires au sein de l’IRT SystemX. D’une part, nous fournissons le support et l’assistance technique nécessaires aux utilisateurs de l’IRT autour du logiciel Open Source de calcul numérique Scilab. D’autre part, nous travaillons sur le module de simulation Xcos. Grâce à cette approche transversale, nous sommes en mesure de collaborer avec l’ensemble des chercheurs et des partenaires de l’IRT pour répondre à un enjeu capital : conforter Scilab comme le logiciel de calcul numérique de référence. »

Michel Morvan

Michel Morvan, Président et Co-fondateur de The Cosmo Company

« Travailler avec l’IRT SystemX nous permet de faire connaître à de grands groupes notre plateforme de modélisation et de simulation de systèmes complexes CoSMo. L’IRT SystemX nous permet en effet de travailler avec eux dans le cadre de projets collaboratifs et de mettre en évidence la valeur ajoutée que nous apportons pour résoudre des problèmes stratégiques, au coeur de leurs activités. Cette collaboration nous donne enfin la possibilité de mieux comprendre leurs problématiques concrètes et ainsi de pouvoir faire évoluer nos produits et notre offre pour qu’ils collent parfaitement aux besoins des entreprises. »

Témoignage de Nicolas Dulac, Intempora

« Travailler sur ces sujets dans le cadre de SystemX nous permet d’avancer en lien étroit d’une part avec les laboratoires de recherche spécialistes du sujet (l’IEF et le CEA) et d’autre part avec les grands groupes futurs utilisateurs des outils que nous développons ensemble (RENAULT, PSA, VALEO, etc.), ces derniers étant alors à même d’exprimer leurs besoins et de guider ainsi les développements de façon pertinente. Ce projet est un exemple de mise en œuvre des synergies entre laboratoires de recherche, PMEs « techno-providers » et grands comptes. »

Témoignage Didier Roux, Président Directeur Général, Krono-Safe

« Au travers du travail réalisé au sein de l’IRT SystemX, Krono-Safe trouve l’opportunité de collaborer en avance de phase avec des partenaires de référence sur les plateformes logicielles pour les systèmes embarqués critiques du futur. Krono-Safe est ainsi en mesure de valider ses orientations techniques pour assurer un développement produit en adéquation avec les attentes du marché notamment dans le domaine ferroviaire, notamment Alstom. La proximité des industriels et académiques réunis en un même lieu permet à l’IRT de jouer un rôle de catalyseur dans le processus d’émergence de nouvelles solutions technologiques. Les moyens tant humains que matériels sont mutualisés pour une plus grande efficacité afin d’aboutir plus vite à l’industrialisation des innovations. »

Témoignage de Marc Pollina, Président, M3 Systems

« Pour M3 Systems, la collaboration avec l’IRT System X permet de participer au projet collaboratif LRA qui implique des partenaires complémentaires et des utilisateurs finaux des technologies de la navigation. Ce projet est aussi l’occasion pour M3 Systems d’aborder un nouveau domaine, celui du ferroviaire et de se positionner pour répondre à des futurs besoins industriels. De façon plus générale la participation à l’IRT apporte à M3 Systems un contexte favorable à l’émergence de produits innovants. »

Témoignage d’Olivier Vine, Président, Open Wide Ingenierie

« L’implication à l’IRT SystemX, créant un contact direct avec nos clients d’une part et les innovations technologiques d’autre part est un atout réel car favorisant l’anticipation des besoins et notre capacité à répondre avec pertinence aux sollicitations des industriels. »

Antoine Rauzy, Professeur et Directeur de la Chaire Henri Blériot, Centrale-Supélec

Extrait de la table-ronde SystemX – Création de valeur – Future@SystemX 2014

« Je crois vraiment que l’IRT peut être le lieu où on donne envie aux chercheurs et aux jeunes chercheurs en particulier, de s’intéresser à des problématiques de la vraie vie et de s’apercevoir qu’il y a énormément de problèmes conceptuels scientifiques passionnants qui sont issus de la vie concrète, et pour ça il faut un lieu ; et l’IRT ça peut être ce lieu.»

Eric Duceau, Directeur Scientifique, Airbus Group Innovations

Extrait de la table-ronde SystemX – Création de valeur – Future@SystemX 2014

« A l’IRT on invente une chose qui n’existait pas : la colocalisation. Ce que je trouve particulièrement efficace à SystemX c’est le fait qu’il y ait de la souplesse et de la réactivité. Il y a beaucoup de pragmatisme. Quand on lance un projet on démarre toujours à plusieurs et on fait une proposition. Le temps qu’elle soit financée il se passe plusieurs années et au moment où on la réalise on découvre qu’il y a des choses qui ont changé. Ici [ndlr à l’IRT SystemX] ça a été vraiment épatant. C’est-à-dire que naturellement, les gens se sont mis ensemble, ont accepté de rediscuter un certain nombre de sujets, de les adapter, de les enrichir. Alors pourquoi ça s’est fait vite ? Parce que la colocalisation faisait que les gens se voyaient toutes les semaines, un jour deux jours par semaine. Ca ne parait pas beaucoup mais c’est largement suffisant. Moi je trouve que par rapport à ce que j’ai vécu dans d’autres projets, par exemple des projets européens, en 6 mois on a gagné plus de 6 mois de maturité.»